Dunavant Faculty Awards

Dunavant Professorships are endowed by a generous gift from William Dunavant. The College of Arts and Sciences awards one to four professorships annually. Awardees receive $5,000 per year for three years to support their research programs. Since 1999, twenty-three Dunavant Professorships have been awarded.

Nominations are sought annually for tenured faculty who:

  • Demonstrate exceptional achievement in teaching, scholarship, service, and outreach
  • Are associate or full professors
  • Have served as members of the University of Memphis faculty for a minimum of eight years

The recipients of the Dunavant Professorships for 2007 are:

  • Barbara Ching
  • Dipankar Dasgupta
  • Satish Kedia