Apply Now    |    Tuition Estimator    |    Undergraduate Programs    |    Graduate Programs    |    Admissions

go to main menusearch
Search Type
University of Memphis Photo

Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Alumni Chapter

2013 Pillars

2013 Pillars of Excellence


Marvin Ballin

Marvin E. Ballin

Hon. Ronald L. Gilman

Hon. Ronald Lee Gilman

Marion "Boots" Boyd

Marion "Boots" Boyd

Hon. Charles McPherson

Hon. Charles O. McPherson

R. Grattan Brown, Jr.

R. Grattan Brown, Jr.

Friend of the Law School

The Belz Family


View photos from the 2013 Pillars of Excellence


The 2013 Pillars of Excellence is presented by

Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC

The Pillars of Excellence Award was created in 2007 by the
Law Chapter of the University of Memphis Alumni Association
to recognize attorneys in the Memphis-area legal community who have made significant contributions to the practice of law in their civic and professional lives.
Each of these recipients exemplify and exceed this standard.
We are pleased to honor them.

Previous Pillars

Walter Bailey
Leo Bearman, Jr.
Irvin Bogatin
James D. Causey
David E. Caywood
W.J. Michael Cody
Hon. W. Frank Crawford
Charles M. Crump
Lewis R. Donelson, III
Hal A. Gerber
Frank J. Glankler, Jr.
Robert L. Green
Dr. Benjamin L. Hooks

John Paul "Jack" Jones
Hon. H.T. Lockard
Frances Grant Loring
James M. Manire
W. Emmett Marston
Thomas R. Prewitt, Sr.
Russell B. Sugarmon
S. Shepherd Tate
John Thomason
William M. Walsh
Roane Waring, Jr.
Hon. Harry W. Wellford
Lee Winchester

View photos from the 2011 Ceremony: Gallery 1 (Photos by Chip Chockley), Gallery 2

The Pillars of Excellence are chosen by a committee comprised of all Past Presidents of the University of Memphis Law Alumni Chapter. Their selections are based upon the following criteria:

To be named a Pillar of Excellence, a person must exemplify all of these characteristics:

• Living at the time of selection;

• Admitted to the practice of law for more than forty-five years;

• Significant service to the legal profession including membership in bar associations and participation in bar association activities;

• Significant service to the community including involvement in civic and charitable organizations;

• Leadership roles in both the legal and civic communities;

• Other significant contributions to the practice of law; and

• General recognition among the Memphis Bar that the honoree possesses the highest legal skills and ethical standards.

Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2013 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 8/19/13

The University of Memphis is an AA/EEO employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. Full Non-Discrimination Policy.

ROCC logoTennessee Transfer Pathways logo