Memphis Matters June 2012




Centennial Events Update

Throughout the Centennial Year, the Alumni Association has hosted several anchor events including Tigers Around Town, Reunion Weekend, Centennial Commencement Processional, Distinguished Alumni Awards, and the upcoming 2012 Homecoming.

For the first time in the history of the Alumni Association, the Association has been recognized with a Bronze National Award in the category of Individual Special Events with CASE for Tigers Around Town.  The Alumni Association also won the Grand Award at the CASE District III level.

Dr. Shirley Raines and Penny Hardaway 

June 2012

 At the University of Memphis May 2012 Centennial Commencement Ceremony, the Alumni Association hosted influential alumni that composed the "Centennial Class." These alumni represented each of the University's 100 years plus the current graduating class.  Participants included former Student Government Association Presidents, former Alumni Association Presidents, current Alumni Association National Executive Board of Directors members and members of the Association's Club and Chapter leadership. The representatives walked across the stage during both the morning and afternoon ceremonies and each received a centennial medallion and a certificate of appreciation from U of M President, Dr. Shirley C. Raines and the Alumni Association.  To see photos from this historic event, please click here.

On Saturday, June 2nd, the Alumni Association hosted the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards, "A Celebration of Our Century" 1912-2012, on the University of Memphis campus at the fountain.  This year our Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipients were: Anfernee "Penny" Hardaway (BPS '03) and Claire Robinson (BA '99).  The Distinguished Alumni Award recipients were: Richard Glassman (BS '69, JD '72) and William "Bill" H. Watkins, Jr. (BA '67).  The Distinguished University Friends Award recipient was John Stokes, Jr.  This year's J. Millard Smith Illustrious Service to the Association recipients were RC and Melba Johnson.  Dr. Shirley C. Raines and Dr. Robert Canady were the inaugural recipients of the Legacy of Visionary Leadership Award.

To view photos from the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards, click here.

To learn more about the Distinguished Alumni Awards, click here or contact the Alumni Association at or 901/678-ALUM.


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/27/15