Alumni Association - University of Memphis
University of Memphis Photo
Pillars of Excellence

Pillars of Excellence

The Alumni Board of the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
invites you to a
Celebration of Excellence in the Law
as we honor the
2013 Pillars of Excellence

Saturday, August 3, 2013
6 pm: Cocktail Reception
7 pm: Dinner and Awards Program

Holiday Inn, University of Memphis
3700 Central Avenue, Memphis, Tennessee

$35 Class of 2013
$85 Individual Blue Ticket
$125 Individual Gray Ticket*
$700 Blue Table
*1,000 Gray Table*
*Gray tickets include premium wine and preferred seating

2013 Pillars of Excellence

Marvin Ballin

Marvin E. Ballin

Hon. Ronald L. Gilman

Hon. Ronald Lee Gilman

Marion "Boots" Boyd

Marion "Boots" Boyd

Hon. Charles McPherson

Hon. Charles O. McPherson

R. Grattan Brown

R. Grattan Brown, Jr.

Friend of the Law School

The Belz Family

Unlock your chance during the evening's festivities to win a
Tag-Heuer Aquaracer Watch
donated by Bob Richards Jewelers
David Yurman Petite Albion Earrings
donated by Susan and Richard Glassman

For more information or to RSVP by July 29, contact
Alumni Coordinator Kaylee Heathcott Pierce at or 901-678-2905.

The Pillars of Excellence Award was created in 2007 by the
Law Chapter of the University of Memphis Alumni Association
to recognize attorneys in the Memphis-area legal community who have made significant contributions to the practice of law in their civic and professional lives.
Each of these recipients exemplify and exceed this standard.
We are pleased to honor them.

Previous Pillars

Walter Bailey
Leo Bearman, Jr.
Irvin Bogatin
James D. Causey
David E. Caywood
W. J. Michael Cody
Hon. W. Frank Crawford
Charles M. Crump
Lewis R. Donelson, III
Hal A. Gerber
Frank J. Glankler, Jr.
Robert L. Green
Dr. Benjamin L. Hooks

John Paul "Jack" Jones
Hon. H.T. Lockard
Frances Grant Loring
James M. Manire
W. Emmet Marston
Thomas R. Prewitt, Sr.
Hon. Russel B. Sugarmon
S. Shepherd Tate
John Thomason
William M. Walsh
Roane Waring, Jr.
Hon. Harry W. Wellford
Lee Winchester

View photos from the 2011 Ceremony: Gallery 1 (Photos by Chip Chockley), Gallery 2


The Pillars of Excellence are chosen by a committee comprised of all Past Presidents of the University of Memphis Law Alumni Chapter. Their selections are based upon the following criteria:

To be named a Pillar of Excellence, a person must exemplify all of these characteristics:

• Living at the time of selection;

• Admitted to the practice of law for more than forty-five years;

• Significant service to the legal profession including membership in bar associations and participation in bar association activities;

• Significant service to the community including involvement in civic and charitable organizations;

• Leadership roles in both the legal and civic communities;

• Other significant contributions to the practice of law; and

• General recognition among the Memphis Bar that the honoree possesses the highest legal skills and ethical standards.

The 2013 Pillars of Excellence is presented by
Ballin, Ballin & Fishman, PC
Thank you to our following
2013 Pillars of Excellence
Cocktail Sponsors:
Glassman, Edwards, Wyatt, Tuttle & Cox, P.C.
Gossett Audi
Farris Bobango, PLC
Pillars Sponsors:
Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP
Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare
Alex's Tavern
Gold Sponsor:


Glankler Brown


Silver Sponsor:
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 7/17/13