Fee Waivers for Persons Who Are Totally and Permanently Disabled and Incapable of Work
Enrollment for audit or credit is limited according to space availability. To qualify for the "tuition reduction" in this program, participants must annually complete an application available at Disability Resources for Students (WT 110), may not be sponsored by a Vocational Rehabilitation program, and may not register before the specific deadline for each semester. See the Bursar's Office Calendar for the official first day to register under these programs.
Totally and Permanently Disabled – Audit Only
Tennessee residents who are totally and permanently disabled, and who are incapacitated from working at an income producing occupation may AUDIT courses without paying tuition charges. These charges may include the following: maintenance fees, program services fees, and special course fees for Business, Fine Art, Engineering, Law or Nursing Programs. Students enrolled in 12 or more hours will be responsible for the mandatory Dining Dollars.
Totally and Permanently Disabled – Credit Course(s)
Tennessee residents who are totally and permanently disabled and incapacitated from working at an income producing occupation may enroll in courses for CREDIT at the cost of one-half the normal per credit hour fee, not to exceed $70 per semester. These charges include maintenance fees and program services fees. Fees not included in this fee waiver include, but are not limited to, Fine Art course fees, Business Course fees, Engineering course fees, UM online program fees, RODP online program fees, Dining Dollars, and materials fees for courses which require an additional fee.
AFTER COURSE SELECTION, participants must contact Student Accounts (901.678.3343) for applicable fee waivers prior to the appropriate fee payment deadline to avoid deletion of classes. Students who adjust their class schedule after the fee waiver has been applied to their account, must notify the Bursar's Office (901.678.3343) of any changes to ensure proper credit is applied and avoid possible deletion of classes and $100 late payment fee.