Division of Student Affairs
University of Memphis Photo
Current Carson Scholars

Christina Brown

Christina BrownChristina is a sophomore Nursing student. She is active in Black Scholars Unlimited, Student Activities Council, Up 'til Dawn, and P.A.U.S.E. Christina is happiest when her actions benefit others; which is made evident by her work as a Resident Advisor and a volunteer for Le Bonheur, Ronald McDonald House, and Habitat for Humanity. As an individual devoted to her academic success, Christina participates in the Helen Hardin Honors Program and consistently places on the Dean's List. This spring she received the Study Abroad Scholarship to travel to Salvador, Brazil.


Rahiem Laurore

Rahiem LauroreRahiem is currently a freshman at the University of Memphis. He is involved with several organizations across campus. As a member of NAACP, BSA, EMOC, and Black Scholars Unlimited he actively engages in and promotes the overall development of minorities. Being an advocate of diversity, Rahiem works with SAC to provide activities for everyone on campus. Through his involvement in the Helen Hardin Honors and Student Success Programs Rahiem has learned the importance of academic excellence and diversity.


Kayla Stringer

Kayla StringerA native of Eagleville, TN, Kayla is a freshman majoring in Journalism, with a concentration in Public Relations. Continuing her passion of giving back to the community, she began participating in Service on Saturdays, the Delta Gamma Day of Caring, and the Lunch with a Leader Outreach Program. Starting at the U of M, she immediately became involved in several organizations such as Blue Crew, SAC, and FAM. Kayla hopes to continue honing her leadership skills and to leave a lasting legacy of service on the U of M campus.

Past Carson Scholars


  • Alvin Bonds
  • Titilola Afolabi


  • Rocio Gonzalez
  • Kortney Goodwin
  • Kinsey Betts McCutchen


  • Sheron Taylor
  • Jessica Sullivan


  • Amanda Bishop
  • Charles Ryan Bush
  • Ashlee Roberts


  • Raven Bledsoe
  • Ananya Datta
  • Brady Johnston
  • Emily Zava


  • Samantha Murphy
  • Greg Vann
  • Allyson Van Hooser
  • Keathen Williams
  • John Vincent Burrell
  • Kenderek Harris
  • Alesia Putman


  • Marissa L. Croft
  • James E. Ramson
  • Aaron R. Turner

For general  information about the Donald K. Carson Leadership Scholarship please contact Mr. Danny Armitage | (901) 678-2187 | darmitag@memphis.edu.

For information on donating to the Donald K. Carson Leadership Scholarship please contact Joanna Curtis | (901) 678-5274 | jecurtis@memphis.edu.

Giving to Student Affairs

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 5/17/12