Departmental Scholarships

The following scholarships are offered by departments in the College of Arts and Sciences. For more information about any of these scholarships, please each department or visit the University of Memphis Scholarship page for more information.


The Department of Military Science Website provides additional information on scholarships.
  • Army ROTC-funded merit-based 2, 3, and 4 YR scholarships
  • Special STEM and Language Scholarships
  • University-funded Leadership Scholarships


Biological Sciences

  • Botany Book and Scholarship Fund
  • Goldye Feinstone Endowed Fund
  • Dr. Virginia M. Norton and Dan Norton Scholarship
  • Dr. Omar E. Smith Enrichment Fund Scholarship
  • The  Elizabeth K. Perryman Scholarship


  • CIBA Specialty Chemicals Scholars Fund
  • J. C. Williams Memorial Scholarship
  • William H. Zuber Memorial Scholarship

Computer Science

  • Peter I. Neathery Memorial Scholarship
  • Peter I. Neathery Fellowship Fund [graduate]
  • Diversity in Computer Science Scholarship


Criminology and Criminal Justice

  • Judge Kenneth A. Turner Scholarship
  • The Jamille Kizer Book Scholarship
  • The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners – Mid-South Chapter Book Scholarship

Earth Sciences

  • Julius Augustus Davies Anthropology Fellowship [graduate]
  • Lounsbury Geology Scholarship
  • Dr. Paul H. Sisco, Sr., Memorial Scholarship


  • Emalie Appleton Brooks Memorial Endowed Scholarship [undergraduate]
  • Elizabeth Phillips Memorial Scholarship [undergraduate]
  • Mid-South Society for Technical Communication Scholarship [undergraduate or graduate]
  • Graduate Research Award [graduate]
  • Dr. Lawrence and Sarah Wynn Fellowship [graduate]
  • Dr. Lawrence and Sarah Wynn Scholarship for the Study of Romantic and Victorian Literature [graduate]
  • William and Martha Donigan Scholarship [graduate]
  • Ruth and Henry Loeb Scharff Scholarship [graduate]
  • Charles S. Brooks Scholarship
  • Society for Technical Communication

Foreign Languages

  • Mary Pettus Thomas Memorial Scholarship
The Mary Pettus Scholarship is not awarded through the Tiger Scholarship Manager. Students should contact Dr. Thompson (see link above) for more information about the application process.


  • Bob Baker Memorial Scholarship
  • Paul R. Coppock Scholarship in History and Journalism [awarded every other year in History]
  • Belle McWilliams Scholarship
  • Ruth and Harry Woodbury Fellowship [graduate]
  • Peggy Jamison Bodine Dissertation Fellowship Award

International Studies

  • Memphis in May International Festival International Studies Scholarship

Judaic Studies

  • Bornblum Judaic Studies Teacher Training Scholarship

Mathematical Sciences

  • R.P. and Dorothy Clark Scholarship
  • Kaltenborn Mathematics Scholarship
  • Mathematical Sciences Enrichment Fund Scholarship
  • Professor James E. Jamison Scholarship


  • Carroll Bowman Scholarship
  • Craig R. Garrett Memorial Scholarship

Physics and Materials Science

  • Albert H. Woollett Scholarship
  • Robert R. Marchini Scholarship



Social Work

  • Janet Mulford Memorial Scholarship
  • Cicely Crawford Scholarship