College of Arts and Sciences
University of Memphis Photo
W. Russell Smith Teaching Award Smith Teaching Award

The W. Russell Smith Teaching Award, established in 1981, is the College's highest honor for teaching excellence.  The selection of a recipient is based primarily on nominations by graduating seniors who are asked to nominate up to three of their professors who have taught for at least 3 years in the College.  The award consists of a plaque and a cash award.

2013 Wesley James Sociology
2012 Melloni Cook Psychology
2011 Margaret Vandiver Criminal Justice
2010 Joe Ventimiglia Sociology
2009 Bob Brown History
2008 Wayne Pitts Criminal Justice
2007 Ladrica Menson-Furr English
2006 David Houston Psychology
2005 Carol Rambo Sociology
2004 Jack Grubaugh Biology
2003 Robert Marchini Physics
2002 Beverly Bond History
2001 Thomas C. Carlson English
2000 Mel Beck Biology
1999 Reginald Martin English
1998 Jerry Sparger Criminal Justice
1997 Rebecca Guy Sociology and Social Work
1996 Scott Kirsch Geography and Planning
1995 Richard Janikowski Criminology
1994 Graves E. Enck Sociology
1993 Jerry B. Michel Sociology
1992 Michael Lupfer Psychology
1991 Milton A. Trappold Psychology
1990 Charles N. Henderson Sociology
1989 Thomas R. Caplinger Mathematical Sciences
1988 Carol M. Veneziano Criminal Justice
1987 Charles N. Robinson Chemistry
1986 Shirley Lupfer Psychology
1985 William R. Brewer Foreign Languages and Literatures
  Joseph Layne Biology
1984 David J. Giacopassi Criminal Justice
1983 James M. Knight, Sr. Criminal Justice
1982 Don P. Claypool Chemistry
1981 Lawrence Wynn English
Back to Top
Back to Faculty Information and Links

What's Happening in the
College of Arts & Sciences?

Arts and Sciences E-Files Newsletter

Arts and Sciences PROFILES Newsletter Website

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 8/4/14