Ranta Professorship in Communication or Fine Arts Is Established

To honor the legacy of its founding dean, the College of Communication and Fine Arts at the University of Memphis is establishing the Dean Richard R. Ranta Professorship in Communication or Fine Arts.

The professorship is open any professor from any department within CCFA. To kick start this campaign, Michael and Susan Osborne, authors and former Department of Communication professors, have announced they will match every dollar donated up to 10,000 that is donated in the next 10 days.

Since 1977, Ranta has tirelessly worked to build an arts and communication focused college that rivals those around the country. Starting with the departments of Art, Journalism, Music and Speech and Drama, the College grew and now contains the departments of Architecture, Art, Communication, Journalism & Strategic Media and Theatre & Dance, as well as the Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music, The Martha and Robert Fogelman Galleries of Contemporary Art, the Institute for Egyptian Art and Archaeology, WUMR Radio Station, the Center for Sustainable Design and the Art Museum of the University of Memphis. Ranta will officially retire June 30, 2016.

To make a gift in honor of Dean Ranta's retirement, mail your check, with Ranta Professorship in the memo line, to:

Department 238
The U of M Foundation
P.O. Box 1000
Memphis, TN 38148-0001

Or donate online at www.memphis.edu/give and select I would like to give to a fund not listed here and type in "Ranta Professorship."