College of Communication and Fine Arts
University of Memphis Photo
Communication News & Notes

Doctoral candidate Christine Platt received first prize during the 25th Annual Student Research Forum for “Couch Potatoes Rising to the Occasion.” 

Melody Lehn, doctoral student, won the U of M Morton Thesis/Dissertation Award, given to outstanding master’s and doctoral students whose thesis or prospectus has been approved by their committee.

Shelby Baldock (BA ’11) and Film and Video students Patrick Churvis and Chad Barton won an Indie Memphis Cinema in Music Award for “Rollin’ n’ Tumblin’” by the North Mississippi Allstars.

Shelby Wilson shot and edited a short film for Tigers baseball, which has been well received on YouTube with more than 88,000 views.


Leroy Dorsey, chair, was named editor-elect of the Southern Communication Journal. 

Professor Katherine Hendrix received the Alumni Association Award for Distinguished Research in the Humanities.

Assistant Professor Tony de Velasco received the CCFA Dean’s Outstanding Research Award.

David Acey was selected as the first International Trends and Services Program Awardee for 2013 recognizing his “expertise, outstanding service and long-term commitment to the Africa in April Cultural Festival.” Also, he received the Tennessee Education Association’s E. Harper Johnson Human Relations Award.

Professor Craig Leake was a recipient of the 2013 Faculty Research Grant.

Specializing in health communication, professors Joy Goldsmith and Patrick Dillon will join the faculty Fall ’13. Joy’s specific focus is hospice and palliative care. Patrick specializes in end-of-life communication.

Josh Reeves recently joined the faculty after earning his Ph.D. from North Carolina State University. His specialties are digital and visual rhetoric, surveillance studies and new media.


Julia Hodgson (BA ’13) earned the Ontario Women’s Champion of Champions title at The Briars Golf Club in Jackson’s Point. A magna cum laude graduate, Julia finished three strokes over the field.

Jeremy Scott Donaldson (BA ’13) received the Department of Communication Creative Achievement Award for outstanding accomplishments.

Kelsey Leslie Ann McDaniel received the Dean’s Academic Achievement Award given to the graduating CCFA student with the highest GPA.

Shannon McIntosh (MA ’91), a producer for the Harvey Weinstein Company, was executive producer for “Django Unchanged” written and directed by Quentin Tarantino.

Edward Valibus (BA ’05) created a documentary on the revitalization of Broad Avenue. He partnered with the Mayor’s Innovation and Delivery Team to produce the video.

News & Notes










small version of the nameplate for magazine

Related Links

Department of Communication


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
College of Communication and Fine Arts | 901/678-2350 | Contact us
Last Updated: 10/29/13