Department of English Department of English College of Arts and Sciences
University of Memphis Photo
Literary and Cultural Studies MA Exam

The M.A. exam in Literature is a four-hour long, proctored exam given twice a year, once in the Fall and once in the Spring.
The exam consists of two sections.
In the first section, students identify and define a set of literary terms (usually about 10-12) and give examples of those terms. These terms come from a list of literary terms provided to students in Engl 7000.
In the second section, students must write two essays. Each essay is concerned with a single focus area. The individual student is responsible for informing the Chair of the M.A. Exam Committee on which two focus areas he or she wants to be tested at least three weeks before the exam. The students chose two out of the following seven focus areas:
British Literature to 1798
British Literature from 1798
American Literature to 1865
American Literature from 1865
African-American Literature
Theory and Cultural Studies
Poetry and Poetics
For each of the essay sections on the exam, students will be given a choice of two questions from which they will select one to answer.
Starting in Fall 2013, the Chair of the M.A. Exam Committee will provide students with lists of texts on each focus area—prepared by specialists of those focus areas— for which students will be responsible. The lists will be composed of approximately 30 texts (25 primary and 5 secondary). Students may choose to discuss other texts on the M.A. exam, but they will be expected at the very least to have a thorough knowledge and understanding of those on the list.

Back to MA in Literature

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2013 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 4/22/13