Engaged Scholarship Committee
University of Memphis Photo

Faculty, staff, and students at the University of Memphis are recognized for their engaged scholarship both locally and on the national level. 

Read more aboout awards won by University of Memphis faculty here...

The University also celebrates engagement through the Engaged Scholarship Award and other accolades. 

Members of the UM community are invited to learn more about such awards below. 

The University of Memphis Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Engaged Scholarship 

Sponsored by the Alumni Association, this award recognizes a faculty member’s distinguished contributions to excellence in engaged scholarship.  Nominations are solicited by colleges during the fall semester each year, and colleges send nominations to the office of the Vice Provost for Research during the early spring semester.  The award carries a $2000 cash prize and recognition at the annual Faculty Convocation in late Spring.


The Harold Love Outstanding Community Service Award  

The Harold Love Award recognizes outstanding community service in higher education.  Students, faculty, and staff are all eligible for this award which is facilitated by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and is accompanied by a $1000 cash prize.  Nominations must be submitted by March 15th of each year. 



The Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty 

The New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE) sponsors the Lynton Award to honor early career faculty members who demonstrate exemplary engaged scholarship in both the classroom and the community. UniversityofMemphisprofessor Dr. Katherine Lambert-Pennington recently won this award for her excellent work at the U of M and South Memphis.  


The Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellows Award 

This award honors student leaders committed to solving challenges that face local communities.  Sophomores and juniors are eligible for this award.  Only one student per year can be nominated from qualifying campuses, and nominations must be made by University presidents. 


The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award 

Another award sponsored by Campus Compact, the Thomas Ehrlich Award-- honors senior faculty members for excellence in engaged scholarship.  Application materials are due each year in April and awardees are selected based on their work in the classroom as well as the University and community levels. 



The C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Award and the Outreach Scholarship WK Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award 

Sponsored by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) and the National Outreach Scholarship Conference, the Magrath/Kellogg awards recognize excellence in engaged scholarship at four year public universities. 




2010: Michael D. Hagge 

2009: Dorothy Norris-Tirrell

2008: Michael Schmidt 

2007: Phyllis Betts and Richard Janikowski  

2006: James P. Whelan

2005: Stan Hyland

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 4/8/13