Tennessee University Faculty Senates


Representing over 10,000 united university faculty at ten state institutions of higher education


August 19, 2010

Dear Director Rhoda, President Simek, and Chancellor Manning:

As the Executive Committee of the Association of Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS), we are writing in regard to the implementation of the “Complete College Tennessee Act of 2010,” which mandates that development of the new university tract program within the University of Tennessee and Tennessee Board of Regents systems consider the views of “faculty senates of the respective campuses.”

Now that the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) has formulated the “Public Agenda for Tennessee Higher Education, 2010-2015” as a means of implementing the act, we ask—consistent with the provisions of the legislation—that the faculty senates of each of our member institutions (Austin Peay State University, East Tennessee State University, Middle Tennessee State University, Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University, University of Memphis, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, University of Tennessee-Martin, University of Tennessee-Health Sciences Center) be consulted formally on the THEC “Public Agenda” for Tennessee higher education.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of this issue.

Executive Committee
Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS)

Jeffrey S. Berman (Univ. of Memphis), President
J.A.M. “Toby” Boulet (Univ. of Tennessee-Knoxville), President-Elect
John Nolt (Univ. of Tennessee-Knoxville), Past President
H. Lyn Miles (Univ. of Tennessee-Chattanooga), Secretary