Fogelman Flash Interactive Newsletter
Fogelman College of Business & Economics, April 2010

In this Issue...

Dean Grover's Message

Professor Julia Heath Wins University Distinguished Teaching Award

Irvin Tankersley Wins Thomas Briggs Teaching Award

First Annual Fogelman Promise Day

The Fogelman Code of Professionalism

Harry Smith Announced as New FCBE Executive-in-Residence

Eric Brey Recognized by the Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International

FCBE PhD Program Continues to Develop

The University of Memphis and the University of Vlora, Albania, Sign Agreement

Alumni Giving Q&A

News Briefs & Events

Fogelman College Faculty Publications

Fogelman College Faculty Presentations and Recognitions

Support Your Fogelman College

Share Your Feedback


Go To Fogelman College Website

Update Your Contact Information

Fogelman College Internships

UM Alumni Association

Contact Us

For information about any of our programs please contact E. Kenneth "Ziggy" Siegfried, Alumni Relations.

Kenneth (Ziggy) Siegfried
Phone: +1 901.678.3759
Professor Julia Heath Wins University Distinguished Teaching Award

Julie Heath

Professor Julia Heath, Professor of Economics, has been announced as a winner of the 2010 University of Memphis’ Distinguished Teaching Award. While a prestigious award in its own right, this is only one of a long line of teaching awards that Dr. Heath has won:
  • 1993 University's Honors Program 'Teacher of the Year'
  • Awarded a Teaching Excellence Fellowship by the Fogelman College of Business and Economics in 1998, a three-year designation recognizing classroom excellence and innovation
  • University of Memphis Thomas W. Briggs Foundation Teaching Award (2000)
  • Named the Tennessee Educator of the Year by the Tennessee Bankers Association in 2006.
  • In 2008, named the Educator of the Year by the Institute for Financial Literacy, a national group promoting economic and financial literacy.
  • Awarded the 2008 Elzinga Award, a national award given by the Southern Economic Association, the economic discipline’s highest recognition of teaching excellence.
  • One of only five economics professors asked to serve on the National Assessment of Education Progress committee on economics. NAEP is the group that issues “report cards” on the state of knowledge in various subjects among high school students (history, geography, math and economics).
  • Serves on the Board of Directors of the National Council on Economic Education, an illustrious group that is chaired by the CEO of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange.

Julie, a former chair of the Department of Economics, has taught a wide range of classes, from introductory principles to Ph.D. theory classes. She has developed several new courses, including ‘The Economics of Sports’ and ‘Men, Women and Work.’ She has just completed development of an online personal finance class and is in the process of developing an Economics and Law course that will be added to the department’s elective rotation in spring 2011. Julie has also developed and taught a Ph.D. Teaching Seminar for the teaching assistants in the College, taping each student and providing individual feedback.

Professors KK Fung, Albert Okunade and Judy Simon are also to be congratulated as they were also named as finalists for the Distinguished Teaching Award.


« Back | +1.901.678.3759
Fogelman College of Business & Economics, Innovation Drive, Memphis, TN 38152-3120
Important Notice | Webmaster: Mirza Ali | ©2010 The University of Memphis