Fogelman Flash Interactive Newsletter
Fogelman College of Business & Economics, April 2010

In this Issue...

Dean Grover's Message

Professor Julia Heath Wins University Distinguished Teaching Award

Irvin Tankersley Wins Thomas Briggs Teaching Award

First Annual Fogelman Promise Day

The Fogelman Code of Professionalism

Harry Smith Announced as New FCBE Executive-in-Residence

Eric Brey Recognized by the Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International

FCBE PhD Program Continues to Develop

The University of Memphis and the University of Vlora, Albania, Sign Agreement

Alumni Giving Q&A

News Briefs & Events

Fogelman College Faculty Publications

Fogelman College Faculty Presentations and Recognitions

Support Your Fogelman College

Share Your Feedback


Go To Fogelman College Website

Update Your Contact Information

Fogelman College Internships

UM Alumni Association

Contact Us

For information about any of our programs please contact E. Kenneth "Ziggy" Siegfried, Alumni Relations.

Kenneth (Ziggy) Siegfried
Phone: +1 901.678.3759
FCBE PhD Program Continues to Develop

Daniel Sherrell

The Ph.D. in Business Administration program in the Fogelman College of Business & Economics has been consistently recruiting, training and placing its graduates in academic and industry positions since its inception.  The College awarded its first Ph.D. in Business Administration degree in 1991.  Prior to that date, the College offered a D.B.A. degree.

The Ph.D. program currently offers six academic concentrations: accounting; economics; finance; management; management information systems; and marketing, with an active enrollment of 75-80 students each year.  The stated mission of the Ph.D. in Business Administration program is "to prepare individuals primarily for careers in teaching and research in institutions of higher education and secondarily for careers as consultants, researchers, and professional managers in other organizations".

Since 2006, the program has graduated 51 students with Ph.D. credentials.  The majority of those graduates have started their careers in academic positions at such universities as Arkansas State University; Clarkson University; The Citadel; DePaul University; Florida State University; Illinois State University; Mississippi State University; University of Akron; and the University of New Mexico.  Other Ph.D. graduates have begun careers in the private and public sectors at firms such as: AEGON USA Investment Management; First Tennessee Bank; US Navy – Surface Warfare Enterprise; and Wells Fargo.

The graduates of the Fogelman College of Business & Economics Ph.D. program have also continued to flourish in their chosen careers long after leaving the University of Memphis.  For example, Dr. Alphonso Ogbuehi (1988) is Dean of the School of Business and Management at Park University in Parkville, MO.  Dr. Tomas Hult (1995) is currently Director of the International Business Center (CIBER) at Michigan State University as well editor of the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science.  Dr. Michael Hartline (1993) is chair of the Department of Marketing at Florida State University.  Dr. Joe F. Alexander (1988) is currently Associate Dean in the Jack C. Massey Graduate School of Business at Belmont University in Nashville, TN.  Dr. Liliana Perez-Nordtvedt (2005) has recently received approval for promotion with tenure to the rank of Associate Professor in the Department of Management at the University of Texas at Arlington.

For additional information about the Fogelman College’s PhD program, please contact the PhD Coordinator Dr. Dan Sherrell (; tel.: 901.678.4552).


« Back | +1.901.678.3759
Fogelman College of Business & Economics, Innovation Drive, Memphis, TN 38152-3120
Important Notice | Webmaster: Mirza Ali | ©2010 The University of Memphis