Fogelman College of Business & Economics, November 2010

In this Issue...

Dean Grover's Message

Alumni Board, Avron Fogelman To Match Donor's Gifts to the FCBE

FCBE Open House Big Success

FCBE Launches Fogelman Fit

Professional First! Launched

FCBE Honors Program Undergoes Transformation

FCBE Stairwell Renovations

Fogelman College Accreditation

Conference On Sustainable Real Estate (COSRE)

Faculty Awards and Recognition

New Faculty and Promotion

Faculty Publications


Support Your Fogelman College

Share Your Feedback



Go To Fogelman College Website

Update Your Contact Information

Fogelman College Internships

UM Alumni Association


Contact Us

For information about any of our programs please contact E. Kenneth "Ziggy" Siegfried, Alumni Relations.

Kenneth (Ziggy) Siegfried

E-mail: Alumni Relations
Phone: +1 901.678.3759

Faculty Awards & Recognition


The Suzanne Downs Palmer Professorship Awards Program was established in 2003 by alumnus Dan Palmer in appreciation for his U of M education in the business school and in memory of his wife, Suzanne. The purpose of the Palmer Awards is to recognize outstanding individual faculty contributions to achieving the mission of the Fogelman College of Business & Economics. Awards can be given in three categories: Teaching, Research, and Service.

This year’s winners were recommended by a selection committee of nine previous Palmer Award winners.

Each recipient received a recognition plaque and a cash award of $10,000.

Dr. Julia Heath

1. Teaching Category – Dr. Julia A. Heath, Professor of Economics

This recipient:

  • Has consistently received excellent student evaluations of her instruction (SIRS and SETE) in a wide variety of courses, from principles courses to Ph.D. courses.
  • Is consistently described as intelligent, passionate, organized, caring, and patient. It is not at all uncommon for students to describe her as "the best professor I've ever had."
  • Has incorporated numerous imaginative and innovative teaching techniques into her courses and has developed several new courses for a variety of students.
  • Transcends the college and even the campus: through her workshops Dr. Heath has trained over 8,000 West Tennessee teachers, K-12, on how to integrate economic and financial literacy into their classes.
  • Has been recognized at a national level as she was invited to serve as one of five economists nationwide on the National Assessment of Education Progress committee on economics.
  • Has received numerous teaching awards, including the Alumni Association's Distinguished Teaching Award, The Thomas W. Briggs Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award, The University Honors Teacher of the Year Award, and the Elzinga Award, the economic discipline's highest recognition of teaching excellence.

Dr. Robin Poston

2. Research Category – Dr. Robin S. Poston, Associate Professor of Management Information Systems

This person was recommended in recognition of her sustained and exemplary research/scholarship that over the last three years has resulted in:

  • 2 papers in A+ ranked journals
  • 1 paper in an A-ranked journal
  • 6 papers in B-ranked journals
  • Fogelman Best Paper Second Place Award (Empirical) in 2008
  • 12 refereed conference papers
  • 2007 MISQ Reviewer of the Year finalist (an A+ journal)
  • Associate Editor for ICIS (annual AIS conference)
  • Associate Editor for AMCIS (annual AIS conference)
  • Editorial Review/Advisory Board for three leading journals: Decision Sciences Journal (A+), Journal of Database Management (A), and Journal of Organizational and End User Computing (B)

Dr. John M. Malloy

3. Service Category – John M. Malloy, Professor of Taxation

This award winner served as a/was recognized as:

  • Small Business Awards Judge – Memphis Business Journal – 6 years
  • Beta Alpha Psi co-advisor – 7 years – Sole advisor – 1 year – Superior Chapter Designation – 7-
  • VITA coordinator – supervises free preparation of low income taxpayer returns – 8 years – most Saturdays during tax season
  • Acting Director of School of Accountancy – 2008
  • Active member of the Memphis Rotary Club, serving on several committees
  • President of the Memphis Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma
  • University of Memphis Golden Key Chapter Honorary Member – 2008
  • Developed MBA specialty in entrepreneurship
  • Member and Chair of various university, college, and SOA committees
  • Member of the Tennessee Tax Structure Committee
  • Directed the U of M Small Business Development Center – 3 years
  • Reader for early elementary students at Klondike and Snowden Schools


Each year, the FCBE recognizes outstanding faculty research papers with its ‘Best Paper Awards’. In addition to a plaque, first place winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250. Award winners for 2010-2011 are as follows:

Empirical Category:

1st Place, Alexander Butler, Larry Fauver, and SANDRA MORTAL, FIR. "Corruption, Political Connections and Municipal Finance," Review of Financial Studies, Vol. 22, Issue 7, 2009, 2673-2705.

2nd Place, Kent D. Miller, FRANCES FABIAN, MGMT, and Shu-Jou Lin. "Strategies for Online Communities," Strategic Management Journal, Vol. 30, Issue 3, 2009, 305-322.

Conceptual/Theoretical Category:

1st Place, BRIAN JANZ, MIS, and Pattarawan Prasarnphanich. "Freedom to Cooperate: Gaining Clarity Into Knowledge Integration in Information Systems Development Teams," IEEE's Transactions on Engineering Management, Vol. 56, Issue 4, 2009, 621-635.

2nd Place, ROBIN POSTON, MIS, WILLIAM J. KETTINGER, MIS, and JUDY SIMON, MIS "Managing The Vendor Set: Achieving Best Pricing and Quality Service in IT Outsourcing," MIS Quarterly Executive, 8(2), June 2009, 1-14.


David Allen, Department of Management
Recipient of an Academy of Management Journal ‘Best Reviewer’ award

Rabi Bhagat, Department of Management
Elected as a Fellow of the International Association of Applied Psychology at the IAAP Annual Congress, July 15th, 2010, Melbourne, Australia.

Cyril Chang, Department of Economics
Recipient of a Medical Care journal "Exceptional Reviewer" award.

Mahmud Hossain, School of Accountancy
Best Paper award at the American Accounting Association Ohio Regional Conference, May 6-8, 2010

Hossain, M. & Mitra, S. Auditor Industry Specialization and Earnings Management of Firms Reporting Internal Control Weakness under SOX Section 404.

Zabi Rezaee, School of Accountancy
Finalist for the 'Governance, Risk, Compliance MVP Award' from the SOX Institute


« Back | +1.901.678.3759
Fogelman College of Business & Economics, Innovation Drive, Memphis, TN 38152-3120
Important Notice | FCBE Web Administration | ©2010 The University of Memphis