Department of Anthropology

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


LINDA A. BENNETT, Professor, PhD (1976), American University [2017]

KERI BRONDO, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), Michigan State University [2019]

ROBERT CONNOLLY, Associate Professor; Director, C. H. Nash Museum, PhD (1996), The University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign [2020]

MICHAEL DUKE, Assistant Professor, PhD (1996), University of Texas at Austin [2017]

RUTHBETH D. FINERMAN, Professor, PhD (1985), The University of California at Los Angeles [2022]

KATHRYN HICKS, Associate Professor, PhD (2008), Northwestern University [2021]

STANLEY E. HYLAND, Professor, PhD (1977), The University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign [2018]

KATHERINE LAMBERT-PENNINGTON, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), Duke University [2019]



MICAH M. TRAPP, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), American University [2019]


CHRISTOPHER BARTON, PhD (2014), Temple University [2018]



JOHN M. GILMORE, MA (1999), The University of Memphis [2017]



ROSS D. SACKETT, Assistant Professor, PhD (1996), The University of California at Los Angeles [2017]

NOTE: Expiration date of Graduate Faculty membership is indicated in brackets.