Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


BERT BURRASTON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2003), University of Oregon [2018]

ANGELA CREWS, Associate Professor, PhD (1996) Indiana University of Pennsylvania [2020]

RANDOLPH T. DUPONT, Professor, PhD (1981), The University of Texas at Austin [2022]

SHELLEY KEITH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Emory University [2023]

K. B. TURNER, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), University of Nebraska-Lincoln [2017]

MARGARET VANDIVER, Professor, PhD (1989), Florida State University [2018]


AMAIA IRATZOQUI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2015), Florida State University [2022]

XIN JIANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), The Ohio State University [2023]

AMANDA D. JOHNSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010) Sam Houston State University [2019]

JAMES C. MCCUTCHEON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013) University of Central Florida [2019]

STEPHEN WATTS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Georgia [2020]

LENARD WELLS, Instructor, PhD (2008), Cardinal Stritch University [2019]

HALEY ZETTLER, Assistant Professor, PhD (2016), University of Texas at Dallas [2022]


CLIFFORD T. FREEMAN, MA (1997), The University of Memphis [2017]

ROBERT KELSEY, PhD (1988), State University of New York at Buffalo [2013]

SUSAN MCNEELEY, PhD (2013), University of Cincinnati [2019]

ISAAC T. VAN PATTEN, PhD (1983), Virginia Polytechnic Institute [2016]


SAM COCHRAN, MS (1974), University of Southern Mississippi [2014]

MICHAEL L. GURLEY, MS (2014), Saint Leo University [2019]

MICHAEL HOFFMAN, JD (1978), Southern Methodist University [2016]

JOSE F. LEON, JD (2002), Universidad Catolica Andres Bello [2016]

ROBERT D. NATIONS, BS, East Texas Baptist University [2014]

WAYNE J. PITTS, Professor, PhD (2003), University of New Mexico [2016]

WILLIAM E. POWELL, MPA (1986), University of Memphis [2013]

ANDY WILSON, MS (2003), Utica College of Syracuse University [2019]


TESSICA C. DOOLEY, JD (2005) University of Arkansas [2020]

MARY HONORE TUCKER, Visiting Assistant Professor, JD (2004), Louisiana State University [2019]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.