Department of Sociology

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


SETH ABRUTYN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), University of California-Riverside [2023]

WESLEY JAMES, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Mississippi State University [2021]

JENI LOFTUS, Associate Professor, PhD (2004), Indiana University [2018]

GRETCHEN PETERSON, Professor, PhD (2000), University of Arizona [2023]

CAROL RAMBO, Associate Professor, PhD (1993), The University of Florida [2017]

JUNMIN WANG, Associate Professor, PhD (2007), New York University [2020]


JOSEPH T. LARISCY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Texas at Austin [2021]

 adjunct teaching


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.