Department of Civil Engineering

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


ADEL ABDELNABY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2020]

DAVID ARELLANO, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), University of Illinois, Urbana [2022]

CHARLES CAMP, Professor, PhD (1987), Oklahoma State University [2018]

MICHAIL GKOLIAS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), Rutgers University [2022]

STEPHANIE S. IVEY, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), The University of Memphis [2022]

CLAUDIO MEIER, Associate Professor, PhD (2008). University of Montana [2023]

ROGER W. MEIER, Associate Professor, PhD (1995), Georgia Institute of Technology[2020]

SABYASACHEE MISHRA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Wayne State University [2020]

LARRY MOORE, Professor, PhD (1983), Mississippi State University [2021]

PAUL J. PALAZOLO, Assistant Professor, PhD (1998), Georgia Institute of Technology [2021]

SHAHRAM PEZESHK, Professor, PhD (1989), The University of Illinois [2018]

RICARDO TABORDA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), Carnegie Mellon University [2020]

BRIAN WALDRON, Assistant Professor, PhD (1999), Colorado State University [2021]


BASSEM ANDRAWES, PhD (2005), Georgia Institute of Technology [2018]

GAIL ATKINSON, PhD (1993), University of Western Ontairo [2018]

MARTIN CHAPMAN, PhD (1998), Virginia Polytechnic University [2016]

MAXIM A. DULEBENETS, PhD (2015), University of Memphis [2019]

ASHRAF S. ELSAYED, Associate Professor, PhD (1995), University of Alabama [2016]

BRYAN J. HIGGS, PhD (2014), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [2017]

MEHRDAD HOSSEINI, PhD (2014), University of Memphis [2018]

DENNIS W. KOERNER, PhD (1981), University of Illinois [2018]

DINCER KONUR, PhD (2011), University of Florida [2017]

L. YU LIN, PhD (1990), The University of Central Florida [2016]

TAO MA, PhD (2016), University of Toronto [2019]

KYRIAKOS MOUSKOS, PhD (1991), University of Texas at Austin [2017]

FARZAD NAEIM, PhD (1982), University of Southern California [2020]

MOHAMED OSMAN, PhD (2016) University of Memphis [2020]

RAJESH PALETI, PhD (2012), University of Texas at Austin [2019]

MASOUD SANAYEI, PhD (1986),  University of California, Los Angeles [2018]

ALIREZA SHAHJOUEI, PhD (2015), University of Memphis [2022]

SCOTT STOVALL, PhD (2010), University of Memphis [2019]

AHMADREZA TALEBIAN, PhD (2016), University of Illinois Chicago [2019]

BEHROOZ TAVAKOLI, PhD (2003), Uppsala University, Sweden [2018]


JOSEPH M. POLK, JR., Master (2004), Christian Brothers University [2017]

YOUSEF SALEH, MS (1987), Ohio University [2018]


HUSSAM MAHMOUD, PhD (2011), University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign [2017]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.