University College

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


DAN L. LATTIMORE, Dean, PhD (1972), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2023]

KEITH SISSON, Instructor, PhD (2008), University of Memphis [2020]


WILLIAM AKEY, Associate Dean, EdD (2006), University of Memphis [2020]

JOY AUSTIN, Instructor,  DA (1983), University of Mississippi [2022]

COLIN CHAPELL, Instructor, PhD (2011), University Alabama [2022]

HAL L. FREEMAN, JR., Instructor, MBA (1999), Union University [2017]

JOANNE GIKAS, Assistant Dean, EdD (2011), University of Memphis [2020]

TIFFANY JOHNSON, Instructor, JD (2002), Georgetown University Law Center [2022]

LORETTA RUDD, Clincial Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Baylor  University [2021]


FELICIA FOWLER, EdD (2002), University of Memphis [2017]

RAYLEAN HENRY, EdD (2000), Tennessee State University [2017]

TIMOTHY LENT HOWARD, EdD (2011), University of the Pacific [2017]

MABEL T. HIMEL, EdD (1994), Univeristy of Memphis [2018]


LUCIEN M. GARRETT III, PhD (1998), University of Georgia [2018]

CYNTHIA HILL, MBA (2007), Centenary College [2017]

RADIE KRUEGER, EdD, Nova Southeastern University [2017]

HERBERT MCCREE, EdD (1996), University of Memphis [2017]

THOMAS RUSSELL, PhD (1999), Vanderbilt University [2018]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.