Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
School of Accountancy


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


CHARLES D. BAILEY, Professor, PhD (1981), Georgia State University [2015]

CAROLYN M. CALLAHAN, Professor, PhD (1985), Michigan State University [2015]

CRAIG LANGSTRAAT, Professor, LLM (1982); CPA, The University of San Diego [2020]

ZABIHOLLAH REZAEE, Professor, PhD (1985), The University of Mississippi [2020]

J. DAVID SPICELAND, Professor, PhD (1976), The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville [2020]

KENTON WALKER, Professor, PhD (1986), Texas A&M University [2020]


JOSHUA COYNE, Assistant Professo, PhD (2014), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [2020]

HYUN HONG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), University Southern California [2016]

KENNETH R. LAMBERT, Professor, PhD (1976), The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville [2020]

JAMES M. LUKAWITZ, Associate Professor, PhD (1989), Florida State University [2015]

JOHN MALLOY, Professor, PhD (1970); CPA, Louisiana State University [2015]

PETER L. MCMICKLE, Professor, PhD (1978), University of Alabama [2019]

NAOMI ROTHENBERG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2001), The Ohio State University [2017]

JANET SOUZA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), Pennsylvania State University [2016]

JOSEPH ZHANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), Louisiana State University [2018]


KELLY RICHMOND POPE, PhD (2001), Virginia Tech [2017]


AREK ARAKELIAN, MBA (2006), California State University, Dominguez Hills [2016]

DANIEL ASHTON, MBA (1994), Webster University, San Antonio, Texas [2015]

PHILIP D. BABIN, MBA (2004), University of Memphis [2016]

MEGAN COOK, MAccy (2010), University of Mississippi [2016] 

JEFFREY NEVELS, MBA (1985), Xavier University [2017]


CHARLENE SPICELAND, MS (2000), The University of Memphis [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 2/4/15