Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Art


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


FRED C. ALBERTSON, Professor, PhD (1980), Bryn Mawr College [2018]

MARIAM AYAD, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Brown University [2015]

BRYNA BOBICK, Assistant Professor, EdD (2008), University of Georgia [2020]

LUCAS CHARLES, Associate Professor, MGD (2002), North Carolina State University [2014]

LORELEI H. CORCORAN, Director of Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology - IEAA, Associate Professor, PhD (1988), The University of Chicago [2016]

CAROL CROWN, Professor, PhD (1975), Washington University [2018]

ELIZABETH I. EDWARDS, Professor, MFA (1987), Indiana University [2018]

CALVIN FOSTER, Professor, MFA (1974), Auburn University [2016]

GARY GOLIGHTLY, Associate Professor, MFA (1995), The University of Memphis [2016]

DONALYN HEISE, Associate Professor, EdD (2001), Nova Southeastern University [2018]

JAMES (JED) JACKSON, Professor, MFA (1980), Cornell University [2018]

LAWRENCE JASUD, Associate Professor, MFA (1980), The Ohio State University [2014]

EARNESTINE JENKINS, Associate Professor, PhD (1997), Michigan State University [2019]

RICHARD A. LOU, Professor, MFA (1986), Clemson University [2020]

LESLIE LUEBBERS, Assistant Professor and Director, Art Museum of the University of Memphis, PhD (2001), New York University [2019]

WILLIAM McKEOWN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2005), Florida State University [2016]

GREELY MYATT, Professor, MFA (1980), The University of Mississippi [2016]

CEDAR NORDBYE, Assistant Professor, MFA (1998), The University of Iowa [2016]

TODD MARLIN RICHARDSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), Universiteit Leiden, Netherlands [2019]

MICHAEL R. SCHMIDT, Associate Professor, MGD, (1994), North Carolina State University [2019]

NIGEL STRUDWICK, PhD (1983), Liverpool University [2019]

NILES WALLACE, Professor, MFA (1975), Alfred University [2020]

NANCY SHARPE WHITE, Associate Professor, MFA (1974), Alfred University [2018]

DANIEL WILDBERGER, Assistant Professor, MFA (2008), University of Iowa [2018]


CORIANA CLOSE, Assistant Professor, MFA (2011), University of Arizona [2017]

JULIE MCGEE, Professor, PhD (1989), Bryn Mawr College [2017]

PATRICIA V. PODZORSKI, PhD (1994), The University of California, Berkeley [2016]


REHEMA BARBER, MA (2003), School of the Art Institute of Chicago [2014]

A. VICTOR COONIN, PhD (1995), Rutgers University [2014]

MADSEN FISHER, MFA (2012), Northwestern University [2017]

CANDACE HITT, MFA (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

CHARLES HENRY JOHNSON, MFA (1977), The University of Memphis [2014]

CHRISTOPHER MINER, MFA (2000), Yale University [2014]

FATIMAH TUGGAR, MFA (1995), Yale University [2015]

DEBORAH E. WAGNER, MA (2011), The University of Memphis [2014]


MATT YOUNG, BFA (1986), University of Memphis [2014]


DAVID L. HORAN, Instructor, BLS (1994), Memphis State University [2017]

EDWARD SHANKEN, Professor, PhD (1999), Duke University [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 9/24/14