Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
School of Communication Sciences and Disorders


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


SHAUM BHAGAT, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), The University of Texas at Austin [2015]

GAVIN BIDELMAN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), Purdue University [2018]

EUGENE H. BUDER, Professor, PhD (1991), The University of Wisconsin, Madison [2018]

MICHAEL P. CANNITO, Professor, PhD (1986), The University of Texas at Dallas [2020]

HERBERT JAY GOULD, Associate Professor, PhD (1975), The University of Illinois [2020]

LINDA D. JARMULOWICZ, Associate Professor, PhD (2000), City University of New York [2020]

JOEL C. KAHANE, Professor, PhD (1975), The University of Pittsburgh [2020]

WALTER H. MANNING, Professor, PhD (1972), Michigan State University [2020]

LISA LUCKS MENDEL, Associate Professor, PhD (1988), The University of California at Santa Barbara [2020]

MAURICE I. MENDEL, Professor, PhD (1970), The University of Wisconsin [2020]

D. KIMBROUGH OLLER, Professor, PhD (1971), The University of Texas Austin [2018]

DAVID J. WARK, Associate Professor, PhD (1971), Indiana University [2020]


ULRIKE GRIEBEL, PhD (1996), University of Vienna [2015]

JANI JOHNSON, PhD (2011), The University of Memphis [2015]

DEBRA SUITER, Assistant Professor, PhD (2001), The University of Tennessee [2017]

VALENTINA TARAN, PhD (2007), University of Memphis [2017]


WENDY ASHCROFT, EdD (1986), University of Memphis [2015]

BENTON COX, III, AuD (2022), Arizona School of Health Sciences [2015]

ROBYN COX, PhD (1974), Indiana University [2017]

CATHERINE V. PALMER, PhD (1991), Northwestern University [2017]

JOHN L. SANDIDGE, MA (1996), University of Memphis [2017]


CASSANDRA BANKS, AuD (2009), University of Kansas [2015]

GEORGIE ANN GOLDSMITH, MA (1980), Memphis State University [2015]

JULIE SABLE MARSHALL, CCC-SLP, MA (1986), West Chester University [2015]

LAURA S. MARTIN, MA-CCC (1988), Memphis State University [2015]

GEORGE E. RELYEA, MA, MS (1981), Memphis State University [2016]

SHARON ANN ROEHRIG, MAT (1981), Indiana University [2015]

CAROLINE ROYAL-EVANS, MS (1981), The University of Southern Mississippi [2015]

JENNIFER P. TAYLOR, AuD (2003), The University of Florida [2015]

MARILYN D. WARK, MA (1979), San Diego State University [2015]

TERESA WOLF, MS (1995), Northeastern University-Boston [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 8/28/14