Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Biomedical Engineering


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


JOEL BUMGARDNER, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of Alabama at Birmingham [2017]

AMY L. DE JONGH CURRY, Associate Professor, PhD (1997), The University of Memphis [2017]

DENIS DIANGELO, Professor, PhD (1993), McMaster University [2017]

EUGENE C. ECKSTEIN, Professor, PhD (1975), Massachusetts Institute of Technology [2017]

WEIKUAN GU, Professor, PhD (1994), Cornell University [2020]

WARREN O. HAGGARD, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of Alabama at Birmingham [2017]

KAREN HASTY, Professor, PhD (1991), The University of Tennessee Health Science Center [2019]

ERNO LINDNER, Professor, PhD (1985), Technical University of Budapest [2019]

WILLIAM MIHALKO, Professor, PhD (1993), Virginia Commonwealth University [2019]

BRADFORD D. PENDLEY, Affiliate Professor, MD (2007), University of Tennessee [2019]

ESRA ROAN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), University of Cincinnati [2019]

JOHN LEICESTER WILLIAMS, Professor, PhD (1981), Northwestern University [2021]


PRADEEP ADATROW, DDS (2008), University of Tennessee [2017]

VINAY BHAL, PhD (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

SYAMAL BHATTACHARYA, PhD (1979), Memphis State University [2016]

BRENTON BURGER, DDS (1988), Baltimore College of Dental Surgery [2018]

DAVID R. CAGNA, DMD (1990), Medical University of South Carolina [2018

EDWARD CHAUM, PhD (1986) and MD (1987), Cornell University [2018]

I-JANE CHEN, PhD (2008), The University of Memphis [2018]

WILLIAM C. CLEM, PhD (2008), University of Alabama-Birmingham [2016]

HARRY S. COURTNEY, PhD (1985), University of Tennessee, Memphis [2018

SOCRATES DOKOS, PhD (1996), University of New South Wales [2016]

FERNANDO GARAY, PhD (2002), National University of Cordoba [2018]

FRANKLIN GARCIA-GODOY, DDS (1976), Autonomous University, Santo Domingo [2016]

MARK S. GOSNEY, MBA (1996), The University of Memphis [2016]

JEFFREY M. GROSS, PhD (1991), Memphis State University [2014]

ROBERT GYURCSÁNYI, PhD (1999), Budapest University of Technology & Economics [2016]

BRENT HOFFMEISTER, PhD (1995), Washington University [2016]

LISA H.K. JENNINGS, PhD (1983), University of Tennessee Health Science Center [2017]

CHENG XIANG LI, MD (1970), China Medical University [2016]

MARK L. MORRISON, PhD (2005), University of Tennessee [2018

SATORU KENNETH NISHIMOTO, PhD (1980), University of California, San Diego [2016]

SANDEEP V. PANDIT, PhD (2002), University of Memphis [2016]

HELENA PARFENOVA, PhD (1975), Institute of Cytology, Leningrad, Russia [2018]

KAUSHIK PARTHASARATHI, PhD (1999), Pennsylvania State University [2017]

JERALD REDMOND, PhD (2007), Carnegie Mellon University [2016]

JOHN ROSE, PhD (1993), University of Leeds, England [2017]

DAVID J. RUSSOMMANO, PhD (1993), University of South Carolina [2016]

MARK S. SMELTZER, PhD (1990), Kansas State University [2018]

JUDITH SOBERMAN, MD (1982), University of Pittsburgh [2016]

HENRY E. SPEICH, PhD (2008), The University of Memphis [2015]

NATHANIEL STOIKES, MD (2005), Rush Medical College [2016]

MARY ELIZABETH TEDDER, PhD (2010), Clemson University [2017]

RICHARD W. TREHARNE, PhD (1976), The University of Pennsylvania [2016]

HAI H. TRIEU, PhD (1995), Case Western Reserve University [2016]

ANN M. VIANO, PhD (1996), Washington University [2018]

ROBERT D. WALLACE, MD (1984), Jefferson Medical College [2016]

CHRISTOPHER M. WATERS, PhD (1991), Vanderbilt University [2016]

ROBERT S. WATERS, PhD (1978), University of Connecticut [2016]

JOSEPH C. WENKE, PhD (2003), Texas A&M University [2018

THADDEUS WILSON, PhD (2000), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2016]

AUDREY ZUCKER-LEVIN, PhD (2003), New York University [2016] 


JULIE BEARCROFT, PhD (1991), Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute [2017]

KATIE L. HARRIGAN, MS (2007), Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology [duration of committee]

CLAUDIA M. HILLENBRAND, PhD (2000), University of Wurzburg [Germany] [2018]

ROBERT OGG, PhD (1991), University of Virginia [2018]

ROBERT S. WATERS, PhD (1977), University of Connecticut [duration of committee]


DAVID FITCH, PhD (2010), The University of Memphis [2018]

JESSICA AMBER JENNINGS, PhD (2007), University of Alabama, Birmingham [2017]

JON MOSLEY, PhD (1992), University of Alabama at Birminham [2018]

 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/9/15