Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Chemistry


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


WILLIAM ALEXANDER, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [2021]

DANIEL LEE BAKER, Associate Professor, PhD (1998), University of Arizona [2018]

THEODORE J. BURKEY, Professor, PhD (1982), University of California, San Diego [2016]

NATHAN DEYONKER, Research Scientist, PhD (2005) The University of Georgia [2015]

GARY L. EMMERT, Professor, PhD (1999), Miami University [2020]

TOMOKO FUJIWARA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2001), Kyoto [Japan] Institute of Technology [2019]

XIAOHUA HUANG, Assistant Professor PhD (2006), Georgia Institute of Technology [2016]

YING-SING LI, Professor, PhD (1968) The University of Kansas [2016]

ABBY PARRILL, Professor and Chair, PhD (1996) The University of Arizona [2019]

PAUL SIMONE, Jr., PhD (2008) University of Memphis [2016]

YONGMEI WANG, Professor, PhD (1990), Notre Dame University [2015]

XUAN ZHAO, Assistant Professor, PhD (2002), Texas A&M University [2020]


PETER K. BRIDSON, Associate Professor, PhD (1978), The University of London [2018]

RICHARD L. PETERSEN, Associate Professor, PhD (1975), The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee [2016]


ALEJANDRO DOPICO, PhD (1989) UBA Pharmacology, Argentina [2016]

EDWIN J. HEILWEIL, PhD (1983), University of Pennsylvania [2015]

RICHARD E. LEE, PhD (1993), University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK [2014]

THOMAS MCNEEL, PhD (1980), Massachusetts Institute of Technology [2015]

DUANE D. MILLER, PhD (1969), University of Washington [2017]

JOHN KEITH YOUNG, PhD (1994), Mississippi State University [2014]


CHARLES E. WEBSTER, PhD (1999), University of Florida [duration of committee]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 2/27/15