Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Civil Engineering


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


ADEL ABDELNABY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2020]

JERRY L. ANDERSON, Associate Professor, PhD (1972), Vanderbilt University [2015]

DAVID ARELLANO, Assistant Professor, PhD (2005), University of Illinois, Urbana [2016]

CHARLES CAMP, Professor, PhD (1987), Oklahoma State University [2018]

MICHAIL GKOLIAS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), Rutgers University [2015]

STEPHANIE S. IVEY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2003), The University of Memphis [2016]

ROGER W. MEIER, Associate Professor, PhD (1995), Georgia Institute of Technology[2020]

SABYASACHEE MISHRA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Wayne State University [2020]

PAUL J. PALAZOLO, Assistant Professor, PhD (1998), Georgia Institute of Technology [2015]

SHAHRAM PEZESHK, Professor, PhD (1989), The University of Illinois [2018]

WILLIAM T. SEGUI, Associate Professor, PhD (1971), The University of South Carolina-Columbia [2014]

RICARDO TABORDA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), Carnegie Mellon University [2020]

BRIAN WALDRON, Assistant Professor, PhD (1999), Colorado State University [2014]




GAIL ATKINSON, PhD (1993), University of Western Ontairo [2018]

MARTIN CHAPMAN, PhD (1998), Virginia Polytechnic University [2016]

ASHRAF S. ELSAYED, Associate Professor, PhD (1995), University of Alabama [2016]

CURT HEASLET, MS (1999), Webster University [2014]

BRYAN J. HIGGS, PhD (2014), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [2017]

MEHRDAD HOSSEINI, PhD (2014), University of Memphis [2018]

DENNIS W. KOERNER, PhD (1981), University of Illinois [2014]

DINCER KONUR, PhD (2011), University of Florida [2017]

L. YU LIN, PhD (1990), The University of Central Florida [2016]

KYRIAKOS MOUSKOS, PhD (1991), University of Texas, Austin [2017]

MOUMITA MUHERJEE, PhD (2008), Michigan State University [2016]



JOHN JERNIGAN, PhD (1998), The University of Memphis [2015]

JOSEPH M. POLK, JR., Master (2004), Christian Brothers University [2017]

YOUSEF SALEH, MS (1987), Ohio University [2018] 


HUSSAM MAHMOUD, PhD (2011), University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign [2017]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/9/15