Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


BERT BURRASTON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2003), University of Oregon [2018]

ANGELA CREWS, Associate Professor, PhD (1996) Indiana University of Pennsylvania [2020]

RANDOLPH T. DUPONT, Professor, PhD (1981), The University of Texas at Austin [2016]

K. B. TURNER, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), University of Nebraska-Lincoln [2017]

MARGARET VANDIVER, Professor, PhD (1989), Florida State University [2018]


AMANDA D. JOHNSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010) Sam Houston State University [2019]

JAMES C. MCCUTCHEON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013) University of Central Florida [2019]

STEPHEN WATTS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Georgia [2020]

LENARD WELLS, Instructor, PhD (2008), Cardinal Stritch University [2019]



CLIFFORD T. FREEMAN, MA (1997), The University of Memphis [2017]

ROBERT KELSEY, PhD (1988), State University of New York at Buffalo [2013]

ISAAC T. VAN PATTEN, PhD (1983), Virginia Polytechnic Institute [2016]


SAM COCHRAN, MS (1974), University of Southern Mississippi [2014]

MICHAEL HOFFMAN, JD (1978), Southern Methodist University [2016]

JOSE F. LEON, JD (2002), Universidad Catolica Andres Bello [2016]

ROBERT D. NATIONS, BS, East Texas Baptist University [2014]

WAYNE J. PITTS, Professor, PhD (2003), University of New Mexico [2016]

WILLIAM E. POWELL, MPA (1986), University of Memphis [2013]

ANDY WILSON, MS (2003), Utica College of Syracuse University [2016]

MELISSA TETZLAFF- BEMILLER, Visiting Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Central Florida [2017]
MARY HONORE TUCKER, Visiting Assistant Professor, JD (2004), Louisiana State University [2016]
NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/20/14