Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Communication


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


DAVID L. APPLEBY, Professor, MFA (1979), Temple University [2014]

ANTONIO DE VELASCO, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), Emory University [2017]

LEROY G. DORSEY, Professor, PhD (1993), Indiana University [2017]

JOY GOLDSMITH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2004), University of Oklahoma [2019]

M. ALLISON GRAHAM, Professor, PhD (1978), The University of Florida [2018]

KATHERINE G. HENDRIX, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of Washington [2017]

GRETCHEN NORLING HOLMES, Assistant Professor, PhD (2003), University of Kentucky [2017]

CRAIG LEAKE, Associate Professor, MA (1969), Memphis State University [2018]

MARINA LEVINA, Assistant Professor PhD (2006), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2016]

DAVID GRAY MATTHEWS, Assistant Professor, PhD (1993), Pennsylvania State University [2017]

STEVEN J. ROSS, Professor, MA (1973), New York University [2015]

SANDRA J. SARKELA, Associate Professor, PhD (1982), The University of Massachusetts, Amherst [2016]

CRAIG O. STEWART, Assistant Professor, PhD (2006), Carnegie Mellon University [2015]

AMANDA J. YOUNG, Associate Professor, PhD (2000), Carnegie Mellon University [2016]


DAVID L. ACEY, Assistant Professor, MA (1972), Memphis State University [2017]

PATRICK DILLON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of South Florida [2019]

ROXANA L. GEE, Associate Professor, MA (1973), Memphis State University [2014]

CRAIG LEAKE, Associate Professor, MA (1969), Memphis State University [2018]

RICHARD R. RANTA, Dean, College of Communication and Fine Arts, and Professor, PhD (1974), The University of Iowa [2013]

JOSHUA REEVES, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), North Carolina State University [2019]


JOHN BAKKE, Professor Emeritus, PhD (1966), University of Iowa [2014]

WILLIAM BRESCIA, PhD (2002), Indiana University [2014]

VALERIE BRIDGEMAN, PhD (2002), Baylor University [2013]

TIMOTHY S. HUEBNER, PhD (1993), University of Florida [2014]

ANDRE E. JOHNSON, PhD (2008), University of Memphis [2017]

KRIS M. MARKMAN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2006), The University of Texas at Austin [2017]

MICHAEL OSBORN, Professor Emeritus, PhD (1963), The University of Florida [2016]

FRANK A. THOMAS, PhD (2008), University of Memphis [2016]


MICHAEL J. COMPTON, Instructor, MFA (1997), University of Memphis, [2013]

NICHOLAS SIMPSON, Instructor, MA (2011), The University of Memphis [2015]


REECE AUGUISTE, Visiting Assistant Professor, MS (2000), Marlboro College [2013]

CHRISTINA MOSS, Senior Lecturer, PhD (2005), Louisiana State University [2016]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-2531
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 4/30/14