Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Computer Science


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


DIPANKAR DASGUPTA, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, United Kingdom [2017]

STANLEY P. FRANKLIN, Professor, PhD (1963), University of California, Los Angeles [2020]

MAX GARZON, Professor, PhD (1984), The University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana [2020]

SANTOSH KUMAR, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), The Ohio State University [2015]

VINHTHUY PHAN, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), State University of New York at Stony Brook [2017]

VASILE RUS, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), Southern Methodist University [2017]

FREDERICK T. SHELDON, PhD (1996), University of Texas at Arlington [2020]

SAJJAN G. SHIVA, Professor, PhD (1975), Auburn University [2020]

LAN WANG, Associate Professor, PhD (2004), University of California Los Angeles [2020]

QISHI WU, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Louisiana State University [2016]


MARC FISHER, Visiting Assistant, PhD (2008), University of Nebraska-Lincoln [2016]

SCOTT D. FLEMING, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Michigan State University [2017]

TIMOTHY W. HNAT, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), University of Virginia [2017]


LINDA B. SHERRELL, PhD (1995), Louisiana State University [2014]

WILLIAM B. BAGGETT, PhD (1998), The University of Memphis [2017]


EMRE ERTIN, PhD (1999), Ohio State University [2017]

HONGJUN SONG, PhD (1998), University of Memphis [2017] 

MANI B. SRIVASTAVA, PhD (1992), University of California at Berkeley [2017]

DANIEL SWEENEY, MS (1981), Carnegie Mellon University [2018]


POONAM DHARAM, MS (2010), Santa Clara University [2018]

ANDREW J. NEEL, PhD (2007), University of Memphis [2017]

KING-IP LIN, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), The University of Maryland-College Park [2018]

BENJAMIN M. MARLIN, PhD (2008), University of Toronto [duration of committee appointment]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/9/15