Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Economics


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


CYRIL F. CHANG, Professor, PhD (1979), The University of Virginia [2020]

ANDREW HUSSEY, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), Duke University [2018]

DAVID M. KEMME, Professor, PhD (1980), The Ohio State University [2020]

ALBERT A. OKUNADE, Professor, PhD (1986), The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville [2020]

WILLIAM T. SMITH, Professor, PhD (1987), The University of Virginia [2016] 


CARMEN FIGARI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), Washington University St. Louis [2018]

JOHN E. GNUSCHKE, Professor, PhD (1975), The University of Missouri [2016]

JOONHYUNG LEE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), University of Texas at Austin [2018]

JOSE J LOPEZ, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014) University of Chicago [2020]

OLEKSANDR NIKOLSKO-RZHEVSKY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), University of Houston [2014]

JAMIN SPEER, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014), Yale University [2020]


JEAN CUPIDON, Visiting Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), Texas Tech University [2016]

STEFFANY ELLIS, PhD (1993), University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill [2017]

SATADRU MUKHERJEE, Visiting Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Houston [2015]

SUMANT RAI, PhD (2012), University of Washington [2015]

JOSEPH P. WEINGARTEN, PhD (1995), The University of Memphis [2014]


K.K. FUNG, PhD (1970), Harvard University [2017]

WILLIAM T. GAVIN (1982), Ohio State University [2017]

JAMES T. VOLLMAR (2004), University of Notre Dame [2017]



DAVID C. SHARP, PhD (1997), The University of Memphis [Duration of Committee Appointment]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/20/14