Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Journalism


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


M. DAVID ARANT, Professor, PhD (1994), The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [2017]

J. RICHARD FISCHER, Professor, PhD (1994), Southern Illinois University at Carbondale [2018]

JOSEPH HAYDEN, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), Indiana University [2015]

DAN L. LATTIMORE, Professor, PhD (1971), The University of Wisconsin-Madison [2016]

SANDRA H. UTT, Associate Professor, PhD (1983), Ohio University [2016]

JIN YANG, Associate Professor, PhD (2004), Southern Illinois University at Carbondale [2016]


CARRIE BROWN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), The University of Missouri [2014]

ASHLEY D. FURROW, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Memphis [2019]

MATTHEW J. HAUGHT, Assistant Professor, MA (2010), Marshall University [2019]

THOMAS J. HRACH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), Ohio University [2014]

RONALD SPIELBERGER, Associate Professor, MA (1965), The Ohio State University [2020]

ERIN WILLIS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), The University of Missouri [2017]


KRISTEN LANDREVILLE, Assistant ProfessorPhD (2010), The Ohio State University [2016]



DAPHNEY PERNOLA BARR, MA (2006), University of Westminster [2017]

WILLIAM DOTSON, MA (2004), California State University, East Bay [2017]

VICKYE HESTER, MA (2008), The University of Memphis [2014]

ANDREW SMITH, Instructor, MA (2010), The University of Memphis [2015]

GRANT SMITH, Instructor, MA (2008), University of Missouri [2016]

JASON R. TERRLL, BA (1991), The University of Memphis [2014]

DAVID A. WATERS, BA (1981), The University of Memphis [2015]


DARRIN M DEVAULT, MA (2002), University of Memphis [2014]

OTIS L SANFORD, BA (1975), University of Mississippi [2014]

ROBERT L. WILLIS, Instructor, MA (1993), Ball State University [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-2531
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/30/14