Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Leadership


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


WILLIAM C. BOZEMAN, Visiting Professor, PhD (1978), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2020]

REGINALD GREEN, Professor, EdD (1975), The University of Missouri, Columbia [2015]

CHARISSE GULOSINO, Assistant Professor, EdD (2006), Columbia University Teachers College [2019]

LARRY MCNEAL, Associate Professor, PhD (1990), The University of Wisconsin [2016]

KATRINA A. MEYER, Associate Professor, PhD (1974), The University of Washington [2016]

MITSUNORI MISAWA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), University of Georgia [2017]

BARBARA K. MULLINS NELSON, Professor, PhD (1992), The Florida State University [2015]

PATRICIA H. MURRELL, Professor, EdD (1968), The University of Mississippi [2018]

JEFFERY L. WILSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), University of Nevada, Las Vegas [2016]


DONNA J. MENKE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), Kansas State University [2021]

JOHN R. PETRY, Associate Professor, EdD (1973), George Peabody College of Vanderbilt University [2014]


BETTE JOAN ACKERMAN, PhD (1973), University of Florida, Gainesville [2014]

DAVID ALLEN, MD (1974), University of California-San Francisco [2014]

KAREN F. BALL, EdD (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

WILLIAM E. BIBB, EdD (2009), University of Memphis [2017]

CARRIE ALLISON BROOKS, EdD (2010), University of Memphis [2014]

MARIO E. BROWN, EdD (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

CYNTHIA CALHOUN, EdD (2003), University of Memphis [2015]

COLTON COCKRUM, EdD (2010), The University of Memphis [2016]

CHARLES W. COKER, PhD (1991), Christian Bible College [2017]

SHAREN L. CYPRESS, EdD (2003), The University of Memphis [2014]

RON DAVIS, EdD (2004), The University of Memphis [2014]

NATHAN L. ESSEX, PhD (1975), University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa [2017]

TERI EVANS, EdD (2005), Union University, Germantown [2015]

COURTNEY E. FEE, EdD (2008), The University of Memphis [2014]

HARRY THOMAS FOGLE, PhD (1984), Nova Southeastern University [2017]

LOUIS GEORGE GAMBLE, JR., EdD (2006), University of Memphis [2017]

SHARON P. GRIFFIN, EdD (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

ASHLEY WHICKER HARKRIDER, PhD (1999), University of Texas-Austin [2014]

TERESA HARTNETT, EdD (2002), The University of Memphis [2014]

TANISHA L. HEASTON, EdD (2010), University of Memphis [2018]

JAMAL-DOMINIQUE HOPKINS, PhD (2006), University of Manchester [2016]

DONALD L. HOPPER, Visiting Associate Professor, PhD (1976), University of Mississippi [2017]

COLBY B. JUBENVILLE, PhD (1999), University of Southern Mississippi [2014]

JAMES B. MITCHELL, Jr., EdD (1989), Memphis State University [2015]

KRISTIN J. MUMIUKHA, EdD (2013), University of Memphis [2017]

GLENDA RAKES, EdD (1992), The University of Memphis [2015]

GAIL D. ROBINSON, EdD (2004), The University of Memphis [2014]

JAMES E. SELBE, EdD (1995), The University of Memphis [2014]

LINN STRANAK, DA (1977), Middle Tennessee State University [2014]

SIMONE THOMAS, EdD (2011), The University of Memphis [2015]

CAROL WALLACE, EdD (2014), The Univeristy of Memphis [2018]

GWENDOLYN L. WATSON, EdD (2011), University of Memphis [2016]


DANIEL A. BUREAU, PhD (2011), Indiana University Bloomington [2014]

JEFFRY ALLEN COZZENS, EdD (2004), The University of Memphis [2014]

JAMES ECKLES, EdD (2011), The University of Memphis [2015]

PASTELLA HAMPTON, EdD (1979), Mississippi State University [2017]

WILLIAM EDWARD HORRELL, EdD (2009), University of Memphis [2017]

LAWRENCE E LUSK, PhD (2011), Capella University [2015] 

GALE VICKIE MEDLEY, EdD (2010), University of Memphis [2014]

LINN STRANAK, DA (1977), Middle Tennessee State Univeristy [2018]

ADAM G. WALKER, EdD (2013), University of Memphis [2016]


WILLIAM AKEY, EdD (2006), The University of Memphis [2015]

WILLIAM W. RAYFIELD, EdD (2012), University of Memphis [2017]

E. RENEE SANDERS-LAWSON, PhD (2001), Michigan State University [2014]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/9/15