Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Management Information Systems


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


LLOYD D. BROOKS, Professor, EdD (1972), The University of Tennessee, Knoxville [2017]

JASBIR DHALIWAL, Professor and Interim Dean of the Graduate School/Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, PhD (1993), University of British Columbia [2017]

MARK L. GILLENSON, Professor, PhD (1974), The Ohio State University [2020]

BRIAN D. JANZ, Professor, PhD (1995), The University of Minnesota [2020]

WILLIAM J. KETTINGER, Professor, PhD (1992), University of South Carolina [2020]

EUNTAE (TED) LEE, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), The University of Nebraska-Lincoln [2017]

ROBIN POSTON, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Michigan State University [2017]

SANDRA M. RICHARDSON, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), University of Central Florida [2018]

JUDITH C. SIMON, Professor, EdD (1976), Oklahoma State University [2020]

THOMAS F. STAFFORD, Associate Professor, PhD (1993), The University of Georgia [2018]

CHEN ZHANG, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), Purdue University [2020]


JONG LEE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), Georgia State University [2020]

LING XUE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), University of Texas at Austin [2018]


GERTRUDE MOELLER, PhD (1990), Mississippi State University [2016]

JOEL NEELY, MS (1972), Middle Tennessee State University [2017]

SANDEFORD J. SCHAEFFER, III, EdD (2010), University of Memphis [2017]


STEVEN JORDAN, Visiting Faculty, PhD (2006), Yale University [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/20/14