Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Philosophy


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


STEPHAN BLATTI, Associate Professor, PhD (2008), University of Oxford [2020]

PLESHETTE DeARMITT, Associate Professor,PhD (2006), DePaul University [2018]

REMY A. DEBES, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), University of Michigan [2018]

SHAUN GALLAGHER, Professor, PhD (1980), Bryn Mawr College [2020]

BILL LAWSON, Full Professor, PhD (1980), The University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill [2015]

MARY BETH MADER, Associate Professor, PhD (1998), The University of Texas at Austin [2016]

THOMAS NENON, Professor and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, PhD (1983), The University of Freiburg, Germany [2018]

KAS SAGHAFI, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), DePaul University [2018]

JOHN TIENSON, Professor, PhD (1970), The University of Illinois [2019]

DEBORAH P. TOLLEFSEN, Professor, PhD (2002), The Ohio State University [2020]

SOMOGY VARGA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), JWG University of Frankfurt [2018]


LUVELL ANDERSON, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), Rutgers University [2018]


VERENA ERLENBUSCH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Sussex [2019]

HOKE ROBINSON, Professor, PhD (1978), State University of New York at Stony Brook [2013]

TIMOTHY D. ROCHE, Associate Professor, PhD (1984), University of California at Davis [2020]


SEBASTIAN LUFT, PhD (1998), Bergische Universitaet Wuppertal, Germany [2016]

VALENTINE MOULARD-LEONARD, PhD (2003), University of Memphis [2013]

LASZIO TENGLEYI, PhD (1986), Lorand Eotvos University, Hungary [2016]


BRYAN SMYTH, Assistant Professor, PhD (2006), McGill University [2013]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 11/19/14