Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Division of Public and Nonprofit Administration


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


JOY A. CLAY, Professor, PhD (1991), Virginia Polytechnic & State University [2019]

DAVID N. COX, Professor, PhD (1977), Indiana University [2014]

LAURA HARRIS, Assistant Professor, PhD (1999), SUNY-Albany [2017]

MICHAEL HOWELL-MORONEY, Associate Professor, PhD (2002), University of Delaware [2018]

SHARON L. WROBEL, Assistant Professor, PhD (2005), University of Texas at Dallas [2016]


LEIGH M. HERSEY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), Arizona State University [2015]

ERIN K. NEMENOFF, Assistant Professor, PhD (2013), University of Missouri-Kansas City [2020]

JOHN TOPINKA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2011), Florida International University [2020]



PETER ABELL, MPA (2008), The University of Memphis [2014]

RACHEL CHEEK, JD (2009), The University of Memphis [2015]

TIMOTHY L. FERREE, MPA (2005), The University of Memphis [2014]

PHYLLIS FICKLING, MPA (2005), The University of Memphis [2014]

THOMAS HAYSLEY, MA (2008), University of New Orleans [2014]

ROBERT MARCYZNSKI, JD (1981), University of Toledo [2015]

DAN MURRELL, Masters (1993), The University of Memphis [2015]

CARRIE SANCHEZ, MPA (2006), Florida International University [2014]

JASON SONNENFELT, Instructor, MPA (2001), University of Nebraska-Omaha [2017]

ANNA WORD, Masters (2007), The University of Memphis [2015]


STANLEY E. HYLAND, Associate Professor, PhD (1977), The University of Illinois-Urbana [2014]

SUSAN SCHMIDT, MPA (1999), University of Memphis [2015]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/20/14