Graduate School
Social Work


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


MARIA ELENA DELAVEGA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), University of Houston [2019]

ROBIN LENNON-DEARING, Assistant Professor, PhD (2004), University of Georgia [2019]

SUSAN ELSWICK, Assistant Professor, EdD (2011), The University of Memphis [2020]

SUSAN NEELY-BARNES, Assistant Professor, PhD (2005), University of Washington [2016]

CATHERINE A. SIMMONS, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), University of Texas-Arlington [2016]

STEVEN SOIFER, Professor, PhD (1988), Brandeis University [2018]

GREGORY WASHINGTON, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Clark Atlanta University [2017]


SUSAN ELSWICK, Clinical Assistant Professor, EdD (2011), The University of Memphis [2018]

GARY F SCHNEIDER, EdD (2010), University of Memphis [2017]

LAMONT SIMMONS, EdD (2007), University of Memphis [2020]


DAVID DIA, PhD (2006), University of Maryland [2015]


LAURA BATTLE, EdD (2011), The University of Memphis [2015]

ALTOVISE BOYD, MPH (2011), University of Memphis [2016]

JONATHAN COLE, MSW (2003), University of Tennessee [2015]


BELINDA HARDY, MSW (1977), University of Tennessee [2015]

SHEA LANGS, MSW (2005), University of Tennessee [2017]

JODY LONG, EdD (2011), University of Memphis [2017]

CHERRY C. MALONE, MSW (2011), University of Tennessee Knoxville [2017]

FREDA MARTIN, Instructor, MBA (1990), University of Memphis [2015]

LAUREN MCCANN, MSW (2009), University of Tennessee [2017]

MELINDA MENSER, MSW (2002), University of Tennessee [2016]

LINDA OXFORD, MSW (1981), University of Tennessee [2015]

FAWN PETTET, MSW (2006), Boise State University [2017]

MALRIE SHELTON, MSW (1981), University of Tennessee [2015]

JENNIFER TAYLOR, MSW (2005), Florida State University [2017]

ERICA TYLER, MSW (2011), University of Tennessee [2017]

SHAKEBRA YOUNG, PhD (2012) Capella University [2016]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-2531
Fax: (901) 678-0378


Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 9/24/14