Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
Department of Theatre and Dance


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


JACOB G. ALLEN, Assistant Professor, M. Mus. (2009), The Eastman School of Music/University of Rochester [2020]

SARAH BROWN, Assistant Professor, MFA (1994), Yale School of Drama [2017]

MARK DAVIS, Assistant Professor, MFA (2007), Smith College [2018]

STEPHEN HANCOCK, Associate Professor, MFA (1984), The Pennsylvania State University [2020]

ROBERT A. HETHERINGTON, Professor, MA (1976), Northwestern University [2015]

JANICE BENNING LACEK, Associate Professor, MFA (1993), University of California at San Diego [2020]

HOLLY C. LAU, Professor, MFA (1991), The Ohio State University [2020]

ANITA J. LENHART, Associate Professor, MFA (1985), Florida State University [2016]

MOIRA J. LOGAN, Professor, MFA (1972), Sarah Lawrence College [2017]

JOHN J. McFADDEN, JR., Professor, MFA (1975), The Pennsylvania State University [2018]

MICHAEL O'NELE, Associate Professor, MFA (1998), The University of Missouri-K.C. [2016]


LAWRENCE BLACKWELL, Assistant Professor, MFA (2000), University Of Louisville [2016]

JILL G. NEE, Visiting Assistant Professor, MFA (2014), The Ohio State University [2020]


RICHARD C. MAYFIELD, MFA (1996), University of Tennessee [2017]

JOHN YORKE, Instructor, MFA (1997), The University of Memphis [2015]


TRACEY BONNER, Assistant Professor, MFA (2009), University of California, Irvine [2016]

KENNETH ELLIS, Assistant Professor, MFA (2007), Southern Illinois University Carbondale [2015]

SUSAN MORRISON, BLA (1987), Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis [2015]

DEANNA ROWE, MFA (1998), University of Missouri at Kansas City [2017]

 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 12/4/14