Graduate School
University of Memphis Photo
University College


The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


RICHARD L. IRWIN, Associate Dean, Ed.D. (1990), University of Northern Colorado [2016]

DAN L. LATTIMORE, Dean, PhD (1972), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2016]

KEITH SISSON, Instructor, PhD (2008), University of Memphis [2020]


WILLIAM AKEY, Assistant Professor, EdD (2006), University of Memphis [2020]

HAL L. FREEMAN, JR., Instructor, MBA (1999), Union University [2017]

JOANNE GIKAS, Assistant Dean, EdD (2011), University of Memphis [2020]

MARGARET A. QUINN, Assistant Professor, MEd (1976), Memphis State University [2016]


FELICIA FOWLER, EdD (2002), University of Memphis [2017]

RAYLEAN HENRY, EdD (2000), Tennessee State University [2017] 


TIMOTHY LENT HOWARD, EdD (2011), University of the Pacific [2017]

MABEL T. HIMEL, EdD (1994), Univeristy of Memphis [2018]

BRENDA DAWN RYAN, MA (2001), University of Southern Mississippi [2014]


JOY AUSTIN, DA (1983), University of Mississippi [2015]

LUCIEN M. GARRETT III, PhD (1998), University of Georgia [2015]

CYNTHIA HILL, MBA (2007), Centenary College [2017]

RADIE KRUEGER, EdD, Nova Southeastern University [2017]

HERBERT MCCREE, EdD (1996), University of Memphis [2017]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

Graduate School
Administration Bldg. 215
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: (901) 678-4212
Fax: (901) 678-0378

Guidelines and Procedures for Graduate Faculty Status

Roles and Criteria for Graduate Faculty Status

Graduate Faculty Application

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/9/15