Department of Biological Sciences

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains six levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, (3) Adjunct, (4) Adjunct Research Co-Mentor, (5) Affiliate, and (6) Adjunct Teaching.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Adjunct Research Co-Mentor members may serve as co-chair of a master's or doctoral committee. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one adjunct or affiliate graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.

Teaching adjunct members may not serve on graduate committees.


AMY N. ABELL, Assistant Professor, PhD (1998), University of Iowa [2019]

RANDALL JAMES BAYER, Professor, PhD (1984), Ohio State University [2018]

EMERSON BOWERS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014) Illinois State University [2022]

SHAWN BROWN, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014), Kansas State University [2023]

KARYL BUDDINGTON, Associate Professor, DVM (1981), Mississippi State University [2015]

JUDITH A. COLE, Associate Professor, PhD (1985), The University of Connecticut [2020]

LEWIS B. COONS, Professor, PhD (1970), North Carolina State University [2018]

BERNIE J. DAIGLE, Jr,  Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), Stanford University School of Medicine [2021]

CARLOS E. ESTRANO, PhD (1996), Universidad Autonoma de Madrid-Spain [2021]

MICHAEL H. FERKIN, Professor, PhD (1988), Boston University [2019]

DAVID FREEMAN, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), The University of Connecticut [2020]

RAMIN HOMAYOUNI, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), University of Houston [2019]

MICHAEL L. KENNEDY, Professor, PhD (1975), The University of Oklahoma [2018]

CHARLES A. LESSMAN, Professor, PhD (1980), The University of Minnesota [2019]

CARLOS LOPEZ-ESTRANO, Associate Professor, PhD (1996), Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain [2015]

JENNIFER MANDEL, Assistant Professor, PhD (2008), Vanderbilt University [2020]

DUANE D. MCKENNA, Assistant Professor, PhD (2006), Harvard University [2021]

MATTHEW J. PARRIS, Associate Professor, PhD (1999), The University of Missouri [2019]

JAIME SABEL, Assistant Professor, PhD (2016), The University of Nebraska [2022]

STEPHAN J. SCHOECH, Professor, PhD (1995), The University of Washington [2018]

STEVEN D. SCHWARTZBACH, Professor, PhD (1975), Brandeis University [2019]

OMAR SKALLI, Professor, PhD (1987), University of Geneva, Genova, Switzerland [2022]

THOMAS R. SUTTER, Professor, PhD (1988), The University of Cincinnati [2019]

TIT-YEE WONG, Professor, PhD (1981), The University of Houston [2023]


MELVIN BECK, Professor, PhD (1974). University of Arkansas [2016]



PHILIP BATEMAN, PhD (2000), Open University, UK [2018]

RONALD K. CHESSER, PhD (1981), University of Oklahoma [2018]

TODD M. FREEBERG, PhD (1997), Indiana University [2023]

CHERYL A. GOUDIE, PhD (1984), Auburn University [2016]

ALLAN HOUSTON, PhD (1991) University of Tennessee [2018]

RACHEL JABAILY, PhD (2009), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2017]

DAVID KABELIK, PhD (2006), Arizona State University [2023]

PHYLLIS K. KENNEDY, PhD (1985), Memphis State University [2018]

JAMES E. MOORE, PhD (2010), The University of Memphis [2023]

CHRISTOPHER SIMS, PhD (2002) University of Mississippi [2023]

KIMBERLY TERRELL, PhD (2011), University of New Orleans [2019]

JULIANN L. WAITS, PhD (2002), University of Louisiana [2018]


JAVIER DELBARCO-TRILLO, PhD (2006), University of Memphis [2020]

REBECCA FRYWELL, PhD (2010), University of Arkansas [2020]

ANN VALERIE HEDRICK, PhD (1987), University of California [2020]

STEVE REICHLING, PhD (1995), University of Memphis [2018]


FORREST BREM, Lecturer, PhD (2012), University of Memphis [2016]

ANNA SORIN, PhD (2002), University of Michigan [2018]

CARRIE HAYES SUTTER, Research Assistant Professor, PhD (1997), Johns Hopkins University [2020]


LEE ALAN DUGATKIN, PhD (1991), State University of New York at Binghampton [2020]

ALKA SHARMA, Visiting Assistant Professor, PhD (2010), University of Arkansas at Little Rock [2019]

ETHAN WILLIS, MS (2017) University of Memphis [2020]



ANDREW C. LIU, Associate Professor, PhD (2003), The University of Michigan [2021]

NOTE: Expiration date of Graduate Faculty membership is indicated in brackets.