Herff College of Engineering
Herff Headlines
Herff Headlines May-June 2013 Features

Dr. Richard Sweigard

Introducing Dean Richard Sweigard

Dr. Richard Sweigard began his duties as dean of the Herff College of Engineering on June 1. Prior to the University of Memphis, Dr. Sweigard served as associate dean of engineering for administration and academic affairs at the University of Kentucky since 2007, where he was also an associate professor or professor since 1988. He served as chair of the Department of Mining Engineering at UK for 14 years. 
Read more about Dean Sweigard...

View pictures from the Dean's welcome reception!

Dr. Lewis

Dr. Gladius Lewis Named 2012-2013 Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award

Dr. Gladius Lewis, a professor of mechanical engineering and an internationally known leader in the field of orthopedic biomaterials and implant design, received the Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award at the University of Memphis on May 6, 2013. The award, presented by the U of M’s Board of Visitors, recognizes exceptional and sustained contributions to scholarly and creative achievement, teaching, and service that have brought recognition to the University. Read more…

BME Challenge

U of M's Society for Biomaterials Student Chapter Places in Inaugural National Student Design Challenge

The University of Memphis/UT Health Science Center SFB student club placed fourth in the inaugural Biomaterials Education Challenge. Their entry was called, "What makes your braces smart?". The team's module was based on shape memory alloy (NiTi) and other biomaterials used in braces. The team worked with a local 8th grade science teacher to make sure the activity corresponded and would integrate into the metrics for middle school science curriculum. Read more...

Congressional Visits Day

U of M Mechanical Engineering Student Participates in Congressional Visits Day

David Pumroy, a U of M honors student in mechanical engineering, was selected by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) to participate in Congressional Visits Day. Each year - AIAA members - engineers, scientists, researchers, students, educators and technology executives - are selected to take part in the event in Washington, D.C. Pumroy was one of three students selected to represent the southeast region of AIAA based on his undergraduate research in astronautics. Pumroy is performing his research with Dr. Jeffrey Marchetta, associate professor in mechanical engineering, and Dr. Firouzeh Sabri, assistant professor in physics, as part of a grant from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Read more...

EECE Poster Research Competition

EECE Research Poster Competition

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering held its first annual Graduate Student Research Poster Competition at the end of April. Graduate students in the department entered 19 research posters that were judged by the faculty members. The winning posters were Pouya Bashivan with "A Non-Invasive Robust Instantaneous Cognitive Load Measure" and Jakir Hossen with "Real Time Algorithms for Human Versus Animal Classification Using a Pyroelectric Sensor." View pictures from the event...

IEEE Southeast Conference

IEEE Southeast Conference 2013

Each year hundreds of students from across the Southeast gather at the Institute for Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Region 3 Southeast Conference. In addition to participating in competitions, students have a chance to attend leadership workshops and exchange ideas with peers and professionals. The University of Memphis students who attended the conference competed in several events. Their work was award winning. Read more...

Dr. Perry

Scholarship Established to Honor Dr. Edward (Ed) H. Perry

After serving the University of Memphis and the Department of Mechanical Engineering for more than 40 years, Dr. Edward Perry is retiring. Dr. Perry has been a recognized leader at the U of M as exemplified by his previous positions such as Department Chair and Faculty Senate President. He is widely known as an innovator in engineering education and has been a recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award.  Friends, family, colleagues and former students have established the Dr. Edward H. Perry Honorary Scholarship in Mechanical Engineering in recognition of his distinguished career. This scholarship will be awarded to deserving undergraduate students at the U of M who are majoring in Mechanical Engineering.  
Make a gift to honor Dr. Perry.

Herff Happenings!

Share Your News with the Herff College of Engineering!

We want to hear about the great things happening in the lives of Herff College alumni. Simply complete the Herff Happenings: Alumni News survey to provide a life update and to share information about an award or honor that you or a fellow graduate won. Thank you for keeping us updated.
Herff Links
News & Events
Herff Headlines
Photo Galleries

youtubeHerff on Facebook

Herff College Advisory Council
A-Z List
Give To Herff
Herff Spotlight

Carl Williams

Mr. Carl Williams Associate Professor of Engineering Technology, is the recipient of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers 2010 Joseph A. Siegel Service Award for his significant and unique contributions to the Society. Read more ...

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Contact Herff College of Engineering | 201 Engineering Administration Bldg |Memphis, TN 38152 | Phone: 901/678-2171 | Fax: 901/678-4180
Last Updated: 9/24/13