Department of History College of Arts and Sciences
University of Memphis Photo

Guide for Graduate Students

Financial Aid

Graduate assistantships
Graduate fellowships
Other financial assistance

Back to the main part of the Guide for Graduate Students
Graduate Fellowships

Ruth and Harry Woodbury Fellowship in Southern History:
Currently valued at $2000, although it varies depending on the earnings of the departmental endowment, this fellowship is annually awarded to a doctoral student with research interests in the history of the American South. By the terms of the endowment a committee consisting of Dr. Crawford and Dr. Chumney chooses the recipient.

Dissertation Fellowships: In recent years the department has provided two fellowships to support doctoral students writing their dissertations. Depending on budget, these may not be available every year, and some years we may offer more.

The first fellowship is for assistants only and provides a semester free of duties with no reduction in pay to a student at an intermediate stage of the dissertation who is expected to complete a chapter during the fellowship period.

The second fellowship is for a year and open to all ABD’s, who expect to finish their dissertation during the fellowship year. Currently it pays $15,000 for the fellowship period.

We announce these fellowships during the spring semester and the Graduate Studies Committee evaluates the applications.

The Dr. Peggy Jemison Bodine Dissertation Fellowship is an annual award given to a doctoral student writing the dissertation. This award varies with the earnings of the endowment, but is currently $1500. By the terms of the endowment the chair chooses the recipient, with input from the Graduate Coordinator.

The Dr William R. and Helen Lucille Gillaspie Scholarship was established by the Gillaspies’ two sons, Greg and Glenn, in memory of their father and mother. The award goes to a meritorious graduate student who either majors or minors in Latin American history, a subject Dr Gillaspie taught for 37 years. At present Dr James Blythe, Dr Guiomar Dueñas-Vargas, and Dr Janann Sherman constitute the committee to determine the recipient.

Print this section

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Department of History | 219 Mitchell Hall | Contact us | Visit the Department of History on Facebook Facebook   Twitter Twitter
Last Updated: 3/12/14