Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
University of Memphis Photo
Duberstein Moot Court Team
University of Memphis Duberstein Moot Court Team
Takes Home Several Awards
duberstein team pic

The University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphrey’s School of Law won Best Brief and a Finalist Award in the National Duberstein Moot Court Competition sponsored by St. John’s University School of Law. Whitney Manning, Ross Smith, Brad Reasonover, Megan Warden, Robert Reid, and Max Klein, law students at Memphis, competed in New York City from March 1-3 arguing bankruptcy issues regarding whether trademark licenses terminate in bankruptcy and whether bankruptcy laws apply outside the United States. Over 60 teams competed representing 26 states.

A team composed of Ms. Manning, Mr. Smith, and Mr. Reasonover won a Finalist Award in the competition and placed third overall in the nation. In addition, this team won the Best Brief Award. Both awards came with cash prizes, as Memphis received two of the five cash prize awards. Prior to this competition, the team competed in the Hon. Lloyd d. George Moot Court Competition in Las Vegas. The team won that competition and Ms. Manning was named Best Oral Advocate.

The Duberstein Competition represents the largest single site appellate moot court competition in the country. The competitors appear before practicing attorneys, bankruptcy judges, and appellate judges. The finals rounds were conducted in the Duberstein Bankruptcy Court House in Brooklyn, New York, which serves as the seat for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court of the Eastern District of New York. The team received their awards before a banquet at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Manhattan, which was
attended by over 1000 attorneys, judges, and law students from the New York area and across the country.

Mark Wright (Attorney at the Wright Law Office), Adam Langley (Law Clerk for the Hon. David Kennedy in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Tennessee), and Henry Shelton (Partner at Adams Reese LLC) coach the teams. Barbara Kritchevsky serves as the Director of Advocacy and Peter Letsou serves as the Dean at the University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law.

The Bankruptcy Section of the Memphis Bar Association sponsors the Memphis teams, and many local bankruptcy attorneys and the four local bankruptcy judges graciously donated their time, skills, and knowledge to prepare the team for both the regional and national competitions. The University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law located downtown in the historic U.S. Customs House continues to demonstrate excellence in national competitions and by producing highly regarded practicing attorneys. Ms. Manning, Mr. Smith, Mr. Reasonover, Ms. Warden, Mr. Reid, and Mr. Klein continue this
tradition of excellence and proudly represent both the Law School and the Bankruptcy Section of the Memphis Bar Association.

duberstein awards


Memphis Law E-Newsletter

Faculty & Staff News

Student Events

Continuing Legal Education (CLE)

Event Bookings

News Archives

ML - Memphis Law Magazine 

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/13/14