Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
University of Memphis Photo

Memphis Law's Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Team won the National Championship in Houston in  March.  The team went undefeated, beating Texas Wesleyan, DePaul, Seattle, St. Mary’s and Harvard on the way to the national title.  The top 18 teams from six regions met in Houston. 

Pictured from left: Bridgett Stigger (coach), LaChina Algers, Chandra Madison, Joseph McKinney, Angela Harris, and Melanie Stovall Murry (coach)

The third-year ABA moot court team of Tracy Bradshaw and Grace Whiting ranked in the top 16 teams in the nation at the ABA National tournament this year.  The team also went undefeated at regionals.  This is Tracy and Grace’s second ABA regional championship.  Joanna Waddell from the 2L ABA team was also recognized as one of the top ten advocates in the region.  Director of Advocacy, Barbara Kritchevsky, is the team’s coach.

Pictured from left: John Michael Ryall, Barbara Kritchevsky (coach), Grace Whiting, Jake Hubbell, Tracy Bradshaw, Megan Fuller, and Jo Waddell

Memphis Law's Duberstein Bankruptcy Competition team of Randall Noel and Jennifer Sutch finished third in the 48-team competition this year. Duberstein competitors advance based on scores, not won-loss, so there’s not a neat list of who they defeated on the way.  They know they defeated Loyola New Orleans in the quarterfinals and fell to the University of Houston, the eventual champions.  The second Duberstein team, Lauren Siegel and Bill O’Connor, were awarded honorable mention best brief.  The team’s coach is Mark Wright.  The Bankruptcy Section of the Memphis Bar Association sponsors the team.  This is Memphis’s best result in Duberstein after a final eight finish last year.


Pictured from left: Jennifer Sutch and Randall Noell

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 1/23/12