U of M News

University News

Frankle and Axley Will Receive Briggs Teaching Award
For release: April 14, 2006
For press information, contact

Dr. Robert Frankle, and Dr. Lawrette Axley will receive this year's Thomas W. Briggs Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award at the University of Memphis. The award recognizes teaching excellence at the undergraduate level and overall commitment to undergraduate education.

Frankle, an associate professor of history, and Axley, an assistant professor of nursing, will each receive the $5,000 award during the University's annual Faculty Convocation at 2 p.m. April 21 in the Michael D. Rose Theatre.

"Bob has been the heart and soul of the teaching profession at the University of Memphis," wrote a fellow faculty member in his recommendation. "He is an excellent classroom teacher and has been so recognized by his students, who were instrumental in making him a two-time Distinguished Teaching Award winner; by his peers, who have sought him out for team teaching in a number of different disciplines and colleges; and by administrators, who have used his expertise in producing innovative courses and modes of presentation. And students hang on his every word."

A graduate of St. Olaf College, Frankle earned his advanced degrees from the University of Wisconsin.

Axley teaches the nursing foundations course, the first nursing course of the curriculum, and serves as chair of the Curriculum Committee. She is undaunted by the number of students, which increases each semester as enrollment grows. "She makes each and every student feel welcome," wrote a colleague in her recommendation. "She introduces a new method with the students at the entry level, then assists other faculty in incorporating it into their courses as the students progress. Her dedication, not only to her students but to the School of Nursing, is evident in the hours she puts into everything she does."

A graduate of Union University, Axley earned her advanced degrees from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

The Briggs Award, established in 1996, is named for the founder of Welcome Wagon International. Nominees are judged on the basis of teaching skills, classroom performance, their role in the overall development of undergraduates, and the results of student rating surveys.

News & Events Home

Last updated: 03/18/2008 16:28:46
| University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last updated: