U of M News

University News

U of M Names Recipients of 2007 Emerging Leaders Scholarship
For release: May 23, 2007
For press information, contact

The University of Memphis has awarded Emerging Leaders Scholarships to 33 students who will be freshmen this fall.  Since it was established in 1982, more than 350 students have participated in the Emerging Leaders program.

Students participate in a structured and learning-outcome-based four-year program focusing on communication, social change and leadership. Recipients also complete community service hours and attend a speaker series and a leadership skill workshop series each semester.

The junior class produces a project for the University, while seniors implement a project for the Memphis community. Emerging Leaders are also heavily involved in campus life, as members of student government, Greek fraternities and sororities and many other organizations, and as participants in Frosh Camp, as orientation guides and as residence hall assistants.

The latest recipients and their high school alma maters are:

Olive Branch: Adrian L. Flint, Southern Baptist Educational Center

Adamsville: Christina M. Frey, Adamsville Jr./Sr. High School

Antioch: LaToya S. Johnson, Hume Fogg Academic

Arlington: Regina M. Werkhoven, Bolton High School

Bartlett: Catherine M. Gianella, Bartlett High School

Brighton: April L. Fletcher, Brighton High School; Joshua J. Teal, Brighton High School

Camden: Matthew L. Hudson, Camden Central High School

Centerville: Whitney L. White, Hickman County High School

Clarksville: Elinor S. McCutchen, Rossview High School

Collierville: Christine E. Ryan, Houston High School

Cordova:  Courtney E. Bradshaw, St. Benedict at Auburndale

Dresden: Cassi N. Patterson, Dresden High School

Gates: Anna C. Hartman, Halls High School

Germantown: Kelsey N. Berry, Homelife Academy, and Christopher T. Hamilton, Christian Brothers High School

Humboldt: Laura A. Murphy, Madison Academic Magnet

Jackson, Tenn: James L. Johnson, Jackson Central-Merry High School, and Mykila Cobb, North Side High School

Knoxville: Morgan A. Jack, West High School

Lakeland: Parker M. Hemphill, Christian Brothers High School

Lexington: Laura M. Grissom, Lexington High School

Martin: Jasmin R. Stevenson, Obion County Central HS

Memphis: Ashton A. Allmon, Ridgeway High School; and Cortney C. Richardson, East High School

Millington: Thomas K. Ratliff, Tipton-Rosemark Academy

Munford: Chase T. McClerkin, Munford High School

Regan: Jacob P. Swafford, Scotts Hill High School

Shelbyville: Kelly D. Pietkiewicz, Shelbyville Central High School

Soddy Daisy: Rebecca M. Mincy, Soddy Daisy High School

Trenton: Jonathan J. Simpson, Peabody High School

More information on the Emerging Leaders program is available from the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement at 901/678-8679.

News & Events Home

Last updated: 03/19/2008 16:39:10
| University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last updated: