U of M News

University News

Nursing Dean to Assume Presidency of National League for Nursing
For release: Oct. 7, 2005
For press information, contact

Dr. Lillian A. (Toni) Bargagliotti, dean of the Loewenberg School of Nursing at the University of Memphis, will step down from that post to become president of the National League for Nursing. The change, which is effective Oct. 10, was announced today by University President Shirley Raines and Provost Ralph Faudree.

Dr. Bargagliotti will be on leave of absence from the University during her NLN presidency, but she will retain her role as a tenured professor in the School of Nursing.

Dr. Bargagliotti has led the U of M's nursing program since 1992. During that time it has grown significantly and has become recognized as one of the premier nursing schools in the nation.

In making the announcement, Dr. Faudree said, "We thank Dr. Bargagliotti for her efforts on behalf of the Loewenberg School of Nursing. Under her leadership, the school's enrollment has more than doubled, a master's degree program in nursing has been established, and graduates of the baccalaureate program have consistently far exceeded pass rates of other schools of nursing in the state. In fact, the most recent graduating class had a pass rate of 100 percent on the nursing certification exam."

The National League for Nursing, based in New York City , has 16,443 members. Among its goals are advancing excellence and innovation in nursing education, promoting professional growth among nursing faculty, promoting research to support teaching practices that enhance learning, and developing and providing services to ensure that nursing graduates are prepared to provide quality nursing care.

News & Events Home

Last updated: 03/18/2008 15:54:53
| University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last updated: