The Faculty Athletics Committee serves as the faculty advisory group to the President on institutional issues related to intercollegiate athletics. It fosters the University's commitment to academic integrity within the athletic department, strives to ensure that the athletic department operates in consonance with the University's educational mission, and actively promotes the welfare and educational success of our student-athletes.

Faculty Athletic Committee Charge Document


  • Lynda Wray Black Esq., Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law

Voting Members

  • K B Turner, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Brennan Berg, School of Health Studies
  • James P Whelan, College of Arts and Science
  • Thomas Ephraim Banning, Herff College of Engineering
  • Barbara D Davis, Fogelman College of Business and Economics
  • Barbara S McClanahan, School of Health Studies
  • David Scott Romantz, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
  • Antonio de Velasco, College of Communication and Fine Arts
  • Tracy Mason Collins, Faculty Senate Representative
  • Esra Ozdenerol, Faculty Senate Representative
  • Richard Vaughn, Student

Ex-Officio Members

  • Robert Hurst Baker, Athletic Academic Services
  • Thomas Michael Bowen, Director of Athletics
  • Zaneta Ivy, Athletic Compliance
  • Melanie S Murry, Office of Legal Counsel
  • Eric M Sabin, Athletic Finance
  • Karen D Weddle-West, Provost
  • Jeanine H. Rakow, Government Relations