The Office of the Provost
University of Memphis Photo
Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award


The University of Memphis Board of Visitors

Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award

The University of Memphis is pleased to announce that it is now accepting nominations for the 2014-2015 Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award, the highest distinction given to a faculty member by the University.  The award is given annually to one faculty member who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to scholarly-creative activity, teaching, and service, bringing honor and recognition to the University.  Faculty eligible for the award must be active and continuously employed by the University for at least five years.  The award can only be given once to an individual.  Chairs of Excellence are not eligible.

The award is given by the University of Memphis Board of Visitors and includes a $20,000 cash prize and a commemorative crystal.  A University committee composed of nine faculty members will screen nominations and identify three finalists.  The recipient will then be chosen from among these finalists by a selection committee composed of three members of the Board of Visitors.  The award will be presented to the recipient at the 2015 Spring Faculty Convocation.

A letter of nomination may be submitted by anyone familiar with the candidate‚Äôs credentials. A nomination remains active for five years unless withdrawn by the nominee.  The nominations must be received by October 7, 2014. The candidate will have until December 5, 2014 to provide supporting materials electronically.


Send nominations to:

Willard R. Sparks Eminent Faculty Award

ATTN:  Jan Brownlee, Office of the Provost

The University of Memphis

360 Administration Building

Memphis, TN 38152-3370 

Board of Visitors Eminent Faculty Award Past Winners

2013-2014 Kenneth Ward, Professor, School of Public Health

2012-13 Gladius Lewis, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

2011-12 Dipankar Dasgupta, Professor, Computer Science

2010-11 Thomas K. Fagan, Professor, Psychology

2009-10 Erno Lindner, Professor, Biomedical Engineering

2008-09 Robyn Cox, Professor, Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology

2007-08 Ralph Albanese, Chair, Foreign Languages & Literatures

2006-07 David Evans, Professor, Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music

2005-06 Jerome A. Goldstein, Professor, Mathematical Sciences

2004-05 David L. Appleby, Professor, Communication

2003-04 Cyril F. Chang, Professor, Economics

2002-03 Linda A. Bennett, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, A&S

2001-02 Robert A. Neimeyer, Professor, Psychology

2000-01 Richard H. Schelp, Professor, Mathematical Sciences

1999-00 Lily Afshar, Associate Professor, Music

1998-99 Arthur C. Graesser, Professor, Psychology

1997-98 Steven J. Ross, Professor, Communication

1996-97 Stanley P. Franklin, Professor, Mathematical Sciences

1995-96 Shelley White-Means, Professor, Economics

1994-95 William R. Shadish, Professor, Psychology

1993-94 Ralph J. Faudree, Professor, Mathematics

1992-93 Steven M. Ross, Professor, Counseling, Ed. Psy., & Research

Office of the Provost
The University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152-3370
901-678-2119 (phone)
901-678-3643 (fax)


Donate to the
Faudree University Professorships


Click HERE to make
a gift to the Willard R.
Sparks Eminent Faculty
Award Fund.

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 9/23/14