The Office of the Provost
University of Memphis Photo
Thomas W. Briggs Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2014-15 Thomas W. Briggs Foundation’s Excellence in Teaching awards. Two awards, in the amount of $7,500 each, will be presented at the Faculty Awards Luncheon in the Spring of 2015.The award was established by the Thomas W. Briggs Foundation and recognizes outstanding educators for their positive impact on undergraduate teaching.

Previous recipients of this award have demonstrated a willingness to teach students who are all types of learners, a personal concern for their students, enthusiasm for their disciplines, and a willingness to serve as leaders in innovation and teaching excellence in their departments. Past recipients are:

1996-97           Dr. Kevin Hagopian & Dr. Phillip Kolbe
1997-98           Dr. Thomas Caplinger & Dr. Ruthbeth Finerman
1998-99           Dr. Jack Grubaugh & Dr. Mark Timmons
1999-00           Dr. Julia Heath & Dr. Thomas D. Mason
2000-01           Ms. Candace Justice & Dr. Robert Marchini
2001-02           Dr. Melvin Beck & Dr. Charles Camp
2002-03           Dr. Nele Hempel & Dr. Kantaylieniere Y. Hill-Clarke
2003-04           Dr. Charles Biggers & Mr. Stephen Hancock
2004-05           Dr. William Jermann & Dr. John Hanneken
2005-06           Dr. Lawrette Axley & Dr. Robert Frankle
2006-07           Ms. Margaret A. Quinn & Dr. Dennis Laumann
2007-08           Dr. Nancy Mardis & Dr. Joe Hayden
2008-09           Dr. Anna Bess Sorin & Dr. Fred Albertson
2009-10           Dr. Donald Franceschetti & Dr. Irvin Tankersley
2010-11           Ms. Charlene Spiceland & Dr. John Haddock
2011-12           Dr. Mark Freilich & Mr. Kriangsiri Milasri
2012-13           Dr. Angela G. Grant & Mr. Leonard A. Jackson
2013-14           Mr. Jacob Allen and Ms. Nataliya Doroshenko

Nominees must be full-time faculty members at the University of Memphis and currently must be teaching primarily undergraduate level courses. The nominee must have a demonstrated record of exceptional teaching skills at the undergraduate level, especially in the last three years. Tenure is not required. Previous recipients are not eligible for nomination.

You may download a nomination form by clicking here. Please send your completed nomination form and statement in one of the following formats to Jan Brownlee. 

Attn: Jan Brownlee
Office of the Provost
University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152

Email (PDF format with “Briggs Award” in the subject line):

As requested by the Thomas W. Briggs Foundation, the selection committee will be comprised of University of Memphis faculty, recent alumni and a representative of the Briggs Foundation.  The administration of the award is coordinated with the assistance of the Office of the Vice Provost for Assessment, Institutional Research & Reporting.

Nominations must be received by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, February 06, 2015.

Office of the Provost
The University of Memphis
360 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152-3370
901-678-2119 (phone)
901-678-3643 (fax)


Donate to the
Faudree University Professorships


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 12/4/14